Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-02-2013, 11:41 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Well in my aquarium I switched out the blue light for another of the white lights, and they are on a timer for I think 10 hours
__________________

__________________
Alefaz14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 11:43 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 69
And when I do test for ammonia and nitrite and nitrate, the ammonia is always 0 and almost always the same with the nitrite and nitrate.
__________________

__________________
Alefaz14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 11:45 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 69
So if I just did water changes every week and maybe cleaned the filter every other week and switch out the filter every month, my fish would be fine at 7.6 and the new fish wouldn't die.
__________________
Alefaz14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 11:57 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cactuspixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 1,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by alefaz12 View Post
So if I just did water changes every week and maybe cleaned the filter every other week and switch out the filter every month, my fish would be fine at 7.6 and the new fish wouldn't die.
They *should* be, but I'm wondering why you have no nitrates? Cut your lighting back to 6 hours and/or don't use all 3 tubes unless you want to go the co2 route. You might need to put in some root tabs or dose weekly with flourish comprehensive (or equivalent) to feed your plants since there is not enough nitrate in the water.
What kind of filter is it? You need to keep in mind that beneficial bacteria are essential to your fish if you don't want to be changing 100% of the water daily. When you throw away your filter media you are throwing out most of your bb. This will make it very difficult to stabilize your tank.
__________________
Cactuspixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 12:04 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 69
3 light tubes? I only have 2 lights, and I already use a co2 system that bubbles co2 into the water. I used to do flourish excel, flourish iron, and flourish, but i decided that since I had a co2 system set up, I didn't need flourish excel. Right now I only use flourish iron and flourish. With this, would I need to start doing Flourish excel again, or do root tabs?
__________________
Alefaz14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 12:06 AM   #26
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cactuspixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 1,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by alefaz12 View Post
3 light tubes? I only have 2 lights, and I already use a co2 system that bubbles co2 into the water. I used to do flourish excel, flourish iron, and flourish, but i decided that since I had a co2 system set up, I didn't need flourish excel. Right now I only use flourish iron and flourish. With this, would I need to start doing Flourish excel again, or do root tabs?
Lol. No sorry. I confused your thread with another. no- you're good
__________________
Cactuspixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 12:08 AM   #27
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 69
The filter is the 3 part filter built into the aquarium. I've never cleaned the bio balls, and i'm not sure if I should or not. The filter with the charcoal in it is the one that I change every 2 months, and it is the first part where the water comes in first. The last part is the sponge, and ive never cleaned it, and should I because the water is probably clean by the time it comes to it.
__________________
Alefaz14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 12:52 AM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cactuspixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 1,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by alefaz12 View Post
The filter is the 3 part filter built into the aquarium. I've never cleaned the bio balls, and i'm not sure if I should or not. The filter with the charcoal in it is the one that I change every 2 months, and it is the first part where the water comes in first. The last part is the sponge, and ive never cleaned it, and should I because the water is probably clean by the time it comes to it.
Give them all a good rinse in treated water every 2-4 weeks or so (not all at once) but don't throw anything out. The charcoal will be acting as biomedia so leave that in. You only need to use fresh carbon if you are wanting to remove meds or tannins from the water.
__________________
Cactuspixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 08:37 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 69
So I never need to replace any of the filter parts? and rinse what out every 2-4 weeks? Also what do you mean by treated water?
__________________
Alefaz14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 10:02 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by alefaz12 View Post
So I never need to replace any of the filter parts? and rinse what out every 2-4 weeks? Also what do you mean by treated water?
Treated water is water that has been conditioned for fish (dechlorinated). Or you can always rinse the media in water removed from the tank from one of the water changes.
I don't have the same filter (using an AquaClear 50) but have been using the same media for almost a year. The only time I change media is if I use a fine media such as polyfil/floss to polish the water.
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 11:50 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 69
So I just need to wash the parts and i shouldn't have to replace anything?
__________________
Alefaz14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 07:34 AM   #32
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by alefaz12 View Post
So I just need to wash the parts and i shouldn't have to replace anything?
Yes. Now cartridges (can't remember which filter you are using) may require frequent (weekly rinsing) and will eventually breakdown. If your filter allows you to place more than one cartridge in it, then you can add a new one when the old one starts to breakdown and run both of them so that the beneficial bacteria have time to transfer to the new one. Or cut a section off the old one and run it with the new one.
That is one thing I like about the AquaClear series: no cartridges. Just sections that you can pick and choose your media.
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 08:12 AM   #33
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
molliwopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Uk, England.
Posts: 2,110
Only wash filter media when needed, blockage or flow ristriction and like whats been mentioned not all in one go. Dont touch the boiball at all if theres a sponge inbetween them and the intake. Washing media is only to remove wasting particles or if they are leeching nitrates and or when the flow is being restricted.
__________________
Fish die belly upward and rise to the surface. It's their way of falling.


[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
molliwopp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 11:47 AM   #34
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 69
So when I do get the problem fixed, what are some hardy cool looking community fish that you would suggest that would go with the fish I already have?
__________________

__________________
Alefaz14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fish

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.