Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-23-2011, 04:22 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
missie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: minnesota
Posts: 348
Question help with uploading pic..so i can show results

someone want to school me on how to upload pics to a thread? just got my master test kit and could use advice on how to read properly...
__________________

__________________
missie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 04:27 PM   #2
member

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411°N/88.3161°W
Posts: 6,932
When you post your thread right above where you are typing will be a paper clip symbol which you can add attachments.
__________________

__________________
HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 04:33 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
missie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: minnesota
Posts: 348
im not computer savi... clicked on the paper clip button came up as a hyperlink?? not familiar with term. i have the pics uploaded to computer... gr!
__________________
missie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 04:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 700
ok after you've clicked on the paperclip, (which doesnt show up in quick reply, in that case you would have to go to "advanced") a box will appear.... from their you will choose browse, since you said you have the pic uploaded on your computer... you will then browse its location through that link and when you have it click upload, it allows you to upload 1-4 at a time.... then it'll say "loading please wait"or something like that, when its done, close that box and submit your post, (I do the attatchement part last) then if working and dont right it'll show up in your post.


this help?
__________________
~Tasha ~ Live~love~laugh ~
For help with cycling and other great articles:
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/articles/
Tasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 05:00 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hippy guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Lexvegas Kentucky
Posts: 1,250
I thought it was the picture icon on the same area as the paperclip? Hm iduno I just use the app on my phone, works awesome
__________________
Bada Bing, Bada Betta
hippy guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 05:06 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 700
if you use the pic image to put a picture on the image has to be online, it doesnt allow you to browse your computer for it, it has to be the paperclip
__________________
~Tasha ~ Live~love~laugh ~
For help with cycling and other great articles:
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/articles/
Tasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 06:41 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
missie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: minnesota
Posts: 348
yay!

Click image for larger version

Name:	2011_0423winter09-20100012.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	202.7 KB
ID:	35388
__________________
missie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 06:45 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 700
ok YEAH!! you got it working. Looks like your at the beggining stages of cycling. Im jealous ab out your ph, although if thats a 7.6 like it looks like in the photo you may want to do the high range... Mine in my tap water is 8.2, and in my tanks... always!!

anyways, your amonia is up, so if you havent done a pwc in awhile you need to do one, and keep testing
__________________
~Tasha ~ Live~love~laugh ~
For help with cycling and other great articles:
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/articles/
Tasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 07:09 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
missie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: minnesota
Posts: 348
i hope im not at the beginning stages of cylcing!!!!! ive had this tank for almost 2 months... and i have fish in there!!!eeek!
__________________
missie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 07:23 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
eco23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 6,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by missie
i hope im not at the beginning stages of cylcing!!!!! ive had this tank for almost 2 months... and i have fish in there!!!eeek!
Have you made any changes recently? New fish? Changed out filters? Heavy duty cleaning? It could be a mini cycle if your tank has been up that long and you have 0 nitrItes. I agree though, you've gotta do a 50% pwc as soon as you can.
__________________
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ng-148283.html
Being responsible...fishless cycling defines it, fish-in requires it. Choose wisely.
eco23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 08:13 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
missie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: minnesota
Posts: 348
both actually. was doing 50% water changes for a week till a few days ago to take care of a ph issue... i also added 3 new fish and an adf was also told my pet store to change out my filter... i guess that was not the best thing to do...
__________________
missie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 08:46 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 700
if your newly cycled chaning the filter isnt a good idea, but if you have a good amount of good bacteria on your substrate, plants and deco, its usually not too much of a problem, even better if you have a filter that has 3 seperate pieces of media, and you only change one at a time..... You may be having a mini cycle because of changing your media and adding fish. Keep testing your levels and doing PWC,s until the readings are desirable How preggo are the fishies?? any idea?
__________________
~Tasha ~ Live~love~laugh ~
For help with cycling and other great articles:
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/articles/
Tasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 08:59 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
eco23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 6,314
The vast majority of your beneficial bacteria lives in the filter. Whenever you plan on changing filters, squeeze a new one in next to the old and leave it for as long as possible to seed the new before you throw the old one away.

I also suggest not using the cartridges that come with HOB filters. Click on the link in my signature...there's an explanation of carbon filters, how to change them, and what to use in their place
__________________
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ng-148283.html
Being responsible...fishless cycling defines it, fish-in requires it. Choose wisely.
eco23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 09:09 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Deckape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by eco23

Have you made any changes recently? New fish? Changed out filters? Heavy duty cleaning? It could be a mini cycle if your tank has been up that long and you have 0 nitrItes. I agree though, you've gotta do a 50% pwc as soon as you can.
What he said... sounds like.what I did
__________________
Smile, it makes folks think that you're up to something.

https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ml#post1456422
Deckape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 09:06 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
missie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: minnesota
Posts: 348
I have no idea how preggo my molly is i just discovered it yesterday.. she is not HUGE yet.. but i noticed a bit of a bulge...thats a another research topic! lol...
__________________
missie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 09:10 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
missie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: minnesota
Posts: 348
eco23- read your article! very informative thank you! how much does filter media normally cost?
__________________
missie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 10:51 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
eco23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 6,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by missie
eco23- read your article! very informative thank you! how much does filter media normally cost?
Thanks missie! I just bought a roll yesterday for ~$9. It'll last me for months.
__________________
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ng-148283.html
Being responsible...fishless cycling defines it, fish-in requires it. Choose wisely.
eco23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 10:55 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
missie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: minnesota
Posts: 348
awesome! thanks for the advice~
__________________
missie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 11:02 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
eco23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 6,314
The absolute best thing for keeping healthy bacteria is stuff called ceramic media. It's little ceramic balls that harbor the stuff and you never, never change it. They're mostly designed for canister filters, but if you have a HOB filter you can add some in a mesh bag and stick it in there. You still need the mechanical filters to catch the debris, but the ceramic media will hold tons of the bacteria so it really lessons the impact any time you have to change filters. Happy Easter!
__________________
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ng-148283.html
Being responsible...fishless cycling defines it, fish-in requires it. Choose wisely.
eco23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 11:04 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
missie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: minnesota
Posts: 348
I will look into that as well! i really want happy healthy fishies happy easter 2 you!!!
__________________

__________________
missie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pic

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does my tank show any indications of lack of co2? (pic) mrzap Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 16 03-13-2006 10:27 PM
Please review my water test results and check out tank pic.. Graybeard Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 19 01-19-2006 10:22 PM
Show off your favorite Pic of your tank! RocketSeason Aquaria Off-Topic 5 12-13-2004 01:44 AM
Problem uploading pic to gallery drummerdharris Forum Admin & Announcements 2 04-06-2004 10:11 AM
what is this a pic i haev to show hotskate Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 11-09-2003 09:05 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.