Hi Everyone- I'm an idiot!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Reannon's Servant

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey, I'm a newbie here, just needed to get some advice on a situation I got myself into today!

I was having pH problems ( too high) and after trying a pH down and getting no results I thought it could have been the gravel I was using. Since I want a nicely planted aquarium I decided to get Flourite black sand.. great.. so I take my fish out, take my gravel out.... dump in new Flourite....... I'm sure you all see exactly where this is going right???

Yeah.. so my tank looks like the black lagoon. I want to set it back up so I don't have to disturb it anymore and it can settle to the bottom, however I can't SEE inside my tank to put anything where I want it! And then, on top of that.. I have a bunch of fish that are now homeless! What I really want to know is when can I add the fish back and it be safe for them??

Thanks everyone!

Nicole

Welcome to AA!

If it were me, I'd drop a heater (the one from your tank already preset to the right temp) and an airstone in the bucket and let the fish stay there overnight. TUrn off the filtration in the tank and just let the fluorite settle out some overnight. Tomorrow, big PWC and and you'll be on your way.

Hi Welcome to AA! I would do what Neilan suggests. Also don't worry about trying to adjust ph, a stable ph is better than trying to adjust it to the "perfect" ph.

Keep an eye on your paramters to make sure you don't have a mini cycle after changing out the substrate.

well the problem is my pH is about 7.8... so adding new fish is very hard because they are so shocked by the pH change. I've been FAIRLY successful so far only lost one fish, but I wanted to get some Blue Rams and the store I get them from has a 7 pH.. I don't want to kill the poor guys