Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-05-2010, 11:31 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 12
High ammonia

Hello,

Have a 10 gallon with between 2-4 ammonia. I have been changing about 10% of the water every other day (after removing 50% about a week ago)and the level does not seem to be moving. The only fish in the tank are 2 long finned zebra danios and 2 glass catfish. Had a pleco but we removed him yesterday. Do I need to change more water? I have been using Amquel and the fish seem to be fine but I do not want them to get sick. Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
AngL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 12:44 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ampa one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: maine
Posts: 260
how long has tank been up and going ? has it cycled? ii use amquel plus i would do a 50% water change then re test
__________________

__________________
ampa one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 12:49 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 12
It has been running since August. We have not had any problems until recently. Is it possible to change so much water that I am getting rid of the good bacteria?
__________________
AngL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 01:06 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Sonomakid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Midland MI
Posts: 879
Send a message via AIM to Sonomakid
the bactiera isnt in the water, it is in your substrate and decor, what kind of filtration are you using ? Have you done a wc and check levels since removing the pleco as they produce a ton of waste ?
__________________
Sonomakid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 01:28 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 12
I have been vacuuming the substrate when I change the water. The pleco was removed yesterday and ammonia was still high as of this morning. I have a Whisper filter. Should the water be changed with out cleaning? The pleco was so messy that even cleaning the substrate every other day there was a lot that was being pulled out.
__________________
AngL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 01:30 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Sonomakid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Midland MI
Posts: 879
Send a message via AIM to Sonomakid
1st dont vacum your substrate, thats more than likely why your ammonia is high imo , you sucking all you bacteria, do water changes with vacuming
__________________
Sonomakid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 01:36 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 12
When should the substrate be cleaned? I do not have an under gravel filter. Will the waste build up after a while?
__________________
AngL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 01:40 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Sonomakid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Midland MI
Posts: 879
Send a message via AIM to Sonomakid
Yes after awhile it will, i would do maybe once every other month or so
__________________
Sonomakid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 01:45 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 12
Ok, thanks.
__________________
AngL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 02:06 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ampa one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: maine
Posts: 260
just do water dont vac every time i vac once a month i do half of tank . then the other half the next month' what ever you do don't change the filter
__________________
ampa one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 02:26 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 12
I do not change the bio filter but I change the chemical filter about once per month. Won't the chemical filter eventually stop working?
__________________
AngL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 03:10 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ampa one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: maine
Posts: 260
i change when water is vary slow and is comes out around intake tube only after i haved cleaned 1 or 2 times
__________________
ampa one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 03:17 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ampa one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: maine
Posts: 260
a dirty filter is a good filter
__________________

__________________
ampa one is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, high ammonia

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The ammonia is very high? goldfishlover101 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 11 09-18-2009 11:04 PM
ammonia is high lovefishies Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 07-08-2006 10:33 AM
Ammonia WAY too high? Elle2 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 21 05-15-2006 02:52 PM
ammonia to high? jester Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 08-30-2003 06:52 PM
High ammonia, what should i do??? mansiz Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 08-04-2003 02:32 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.