Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-16-2014, 01:59 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Candi1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 360
High ammonia question

What if your doing water changes to bring ammonia down, but your tap water has ammonia?
__________________

__________________
Candi1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 02:48 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by Candi1990 View Post
What if your doing water changes to bring ammonia down, but your tap water has ammonia?
You've got a few options. First I would test the tap water multiple times to confirm your findings.

Second, you could use/buy water filtered by reverse osmosis or deionized water. Some lfs provide it for free, some natural food markets sell it for ~.50$ a gallon, and there is always the grocery store. In my area RO water by the gallon is $0.87 each. If you use RO/DI water, you need to remineralize it.

You could also purchase a filtration system for your tap. RO/DI systems are more expensive than buying water to start with, but pay for themselves down the road. Once again, you would need to remineralize the filtered water for your tank.

I'm sure there are other ways to do it, but that's what I have off the top of my head.
__________________

__________________
enrgizerbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 12:51 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Candi1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by enrgizerbunny View Post
You've got a few options. First I would test the tap water multiple times to confirm your findings.

Second, you could use/buy water filtered by reverse osmosis or deionized water. Some lfs provide it for free, some natural food markets sell it for ~.50$ a gallon, and there is always the grocery store. In my area RO water by the gallon is $0.87 each. If you use RO/DI water, you need to remineralize it.

You could also purchase a filtration system for your tap. RO/DI systems are more expensive than buying water to start with, but pay for themselves down the road. Once again, you would need to remineralize the filtered water for your tank.

I'm sure there are other ways to do it, but that's what I have off the top of my head.

Thanks! I ended up buying water, but cant keep doing that. I have 4 tanks 165 gal, 50%water change is too much water to lug around. I never tested until now (been about 3 years). It never bothered the fish before i guess i should leave it alone.
__________________
Candi1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 01:21 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
shellieca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ontario, CA
Posts: 1,622
How much ammonia are you talking about? If your tanks are fully cycled they should be processing out the ammonia within 24 hrs so it shouldn't be an issue. On a mature tank the weekly water changes are more about nitrates typically.
__________________
shellieca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 01:44 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Candi1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 360
I think my problem was when i did a 50% water change and a filter change. Thats when i noticed the sick fish... (In one tank) so i checked all tanks and they were all high.
__________________
Candi1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 01:46 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Candi1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 360
Today i did 50% water again (in one tank). Nitrates are high in them all! Even the ones i changed the water in last week nitrates are topped out. Ammonia 5.0.
__________________
Candi1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 04:14 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flitabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pipestone, Minnesota
Posts: 1,929
What is your tap testing out at? I am not trying to harp on this but are you adding a water conditioner to your tanks when you change the water? Also have you tested the tap if so what are the numbers?
Ammo-
Nitrite-
Nitrate-
pH-
__________________
flitabout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 04:30 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 5,650
Add prime to your tap water then put it in the tank?
__________________

__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, high ammonia, question

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.