High Nitrites

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fishlane

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello every one this is my first time ever writing in a forum...hope this works thanks for any advice given!!! :)

:( HELP!!!!! my tank has high nitrites and it is not going down what should i do????

Hiya fishlane and welcome to Aquariumadvice!

Ack; high nitrites. Big problem there, but easily taken care of. 2 things you need to do:

Daily water changes; amount depending on the level of nitrites, although I wouldn't do more then 50% in one day.

Salt; a small amount of salt (say 1 tsp per 10g). Salt is THE treatment for nitrite poisoning.

thank you I will try that today after work...I have salt in the tank presently but after I change the water I will compensate for the water taken out...also I was told by a local fish shop that liquid gravel vac also works is this true?? I just want to do every thing correctly because I am a new hobbyist and I don’t want to screw anything up...thanks again for your help :?

Hi, fishlane! Welcome to AA!!

First off, when you say high nitrites, what numbers are you talking about? Also, it would be helpful to know your ammonia and nitrate readings too.

Are you currently cycling the tank? If so, it's normal to see a nitrite spike as the bacteria that convert nitrite to nitrate colonize the tank. Like Allivymar said, water changes are in order if the nitrite levels remain elevated.

Finally, do any fish appear to be gasping for breath? Nitrite poisons fish the same way carbon dioxide poisons us, by blocking the transport of oxygen to body tissues via the blood.
I didn't know about the salt trick for treating acute nitrite poisoning - thanx, Alli!