High ph effects

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lomeli562

Aquarium Advice Activist
How does high ph effect a fishes health? My ph is 8.2 and my black moor seems sickly how can it effect her?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-T217A using Aquarium Advice mobile app

I'm not an expert on gold fish but I would say your fishes health is not pH related.
Water conditions, tank size and diet are more important.
Being around fish many years I have seen gold fish thrive in a wide variety of pH range as long as it stays one level, as most fish, they are sensitive to pH swings.
I would focus more on water changes and keeping the temperature no higher than mid to lower 70's.

Well the temp on her tank right now is about 72 shes in a 55 gal and I did a 30 gal wc about an hour ago she seems to be doing better but shes been up and down for a while now. She does have white patches on her I treated her with tetra fungi tabs (not sure if thats the real name) and she improved but the patches didnt fully disapear. Could that be the cause of her ailments?

Well the temp on her tank right now is about 72 shes in a 55 gal and I did a 30 gal wc about an hour ago she seems to be doing better but shes been up and down for a while now. She does have white patches on her I treated her with tetra fungi tabs (not sure if thats the real name) and she improved but the patches didnt fully disapear. Could that be the cause of her ailments? Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-T217A using Aquarium Advice mobile app

You know, it's hard to tell the cause of her ailments not knowing much of the history with the fish and tank's maintenance.
The general rule is to do frequent water changes, more so when they're showing signs of disease, good filtration and feeding.