Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-19-2013, 01:46 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4,245
high tech aquariums

Tell me about your high tech setup! Not just high tech planted but high tech in general.
What do you do with techbology that others dont know how to or dont know can be done. From automatic top offs, to awesome lights timers, to automated water testing. I want to hear all about it!
__________________

__________________
God is amazing. The proof is in the pudding and the pudding is everywhere
African Leaf Fish Tank Build
GodFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 06:15 PM   #2
member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 629
I have a full aquatronia system

If the

Power goes out
The temp drops or goes to high
Ph goes to high or low
The redox goes to high or low
The sump level goes to high or low
The conductivity changes
Or I get any water leaks

It sends me a SMS message

Also if I send my tank a SMS message saying info it send me back all the readings like this

AQUATRONICA:
Temperature 83.6'F
PH 6.99
Redox 378mV
Level LIV2
Water Leak Dry
Water Leak Dry

I also don't do ANY water changes as a 50/50 of pure RO and hma water pumps in 24/7
It changes about 200 gal per day and drain via a overflow in my sump that goes to a main drain

I also run a big fluid bed (sand filter) that can deal with a 10,000 gal heavy stocked pond this maybe over kill for a 1,000 gal tank but you can never have to much filtration but it's very easy not to have enough

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2184030992.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	141.6 KB
ID:	203213
__________________

__________________
T1KARMANN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 06:38 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by T1KARMANN View Post
I have a full aquatronia system

If the

Power goes out
The temp drops or goes to high
Ph goes to high or low
The redox goes to high or low
The sump level goes to high or low
The conductivity changes
Or I get any water leaks

It sends me a SMS message

Also if I send my tank a SMS message saying info it send me back all the readings like this

AQUATRONICA:
Temperature 83.6'F
PH 6.99
Redox 378mV
Level LIV2
Water Leak Dry
Water Leak Dry

I also don't do ANY water changes as a 50/50 of pure RO and hma water pumps in 24/7
It changes about 200 gal per day and drain via a overflow in my sump that goes to a main drain

I also run a big fluid bed (sand filter) that can deal with a 10,000 gal heavy stocked pond this maybe over kill for a 1,000 gal tank but you can never have to much filtration but it's very easy not to have enough
Holy cow that is awesome! Is that a system you buy or did you make it?
__________________
God is amazing. The proof is in the pudding and the pudding is everywhere
African Leaf Fish Tank Build
GodFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 07:24 PM   #4
member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by GodFan View Post
Holy cow that is awesome! Is that a system you buy or did you make it?
You buy the controller and power bar then add the bits you need to monitor You need the power bar as all of the control modules plug into it via its fairly expensive but well worth the money if you have as much money as I do rapped up in fish
__________________
T1KARMANN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 09:17 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by T1KARMANN View Post

You buy the controller and power bar then add the bits you need to monitor You need the power bar as all of the control modules plug into it via its fairly expensive but well worth the money if you have as much money as I do rapped up in fish
That is awesome! I just want to be able to turn my led lights on a few different modes with a timer lol
__________________
God is amazing. The proof is in the pudding and the pudding is everywhere
African Leaf Fish Tank Build
GodFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 09:14 AM   #6
member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by GodFan View Post
That is awesome! I just want to be able to turn my led lights on a few different modes with a timer lol
All my lights also run from the plug bar

I can dim them slowly or add dosing pumps and a wave maker
__________________
T1KARMANN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 09:27 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by T1KARMANN View Post

All my lights also run from the plug bar

I can dim them slowly or add dosing pumps and a wave maker
Very cool. Thats beyond anything Ilo ever do!
__________________
God is amazing. The proof is in the pudding and the pudding is everywhere
African Leaf Fish Tank Build
GodFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 10:16 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Brilliant_Barbs_21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southern New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by T1KARMANN View Post
I have a full aquatronia system If the Power goes out The temp drops or goes to high Ph goes to high or low The redox goes to high or low The sump level goes to high or low The conductivity changes Or I get any water leaks It sends me a SMS message Also if I send my tank a SMS message saying info it send me back all the readings like this AQUATRONICA: Temperature 83.6'F PH 6.99 Redox 378mV Level LIV2 Water Leak Dry Water Leak Dry I also don't do ANY water changes as a 50/50 of pure RO and hma water pumps in 24/7 It changes about 200 gal per day and drain via a overflow in my sump that goes to a main drain I also run a big fluid bed (sand filter) that can deal with a 10,000 gal heavy stocked pond this maybe over kill for a 1,000 gal tank but you can never have to much filtration but it's very easy not to have enough
Wow! Can we see some full tank pictures? I bet those are the happiest fish in miles!
__________________
Brilliant_Barbs_21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 05:27 PM   #9
member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 629
Big fish need a big tank

Tank size 8ft long 6ft wide 3ft deep

I have had nearly all of the fish over 7 years they started off in a 350 gal


http://youtu.be/xDCA_FNtHAs

http://youtu.be/FmNhA0q5Wjs
__________________
T1KARMANN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 05:56 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tx Oscar Lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by T1KARMANN View Post
Big fish need a big tank Tank size 8ft long 6ft wide 3ft deep I have had nearly all of the fish over 7 years they started off in a 350 gal http://youtu.be/xDCA_FNtHAs http://youtu.be/FmNhA0q5Wjs
Amazing tank, amazing setup, amazing Arowona. You sir, know what you are doing lol.
__________________
Tx Oscar Lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 06:01 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
I use a x-10 home automation system for lights and pumps. Programmed to cycle lights and power heads and it has a wireless remote. With it I can control every thing including main pumps, skimmer and DIY dosing pumps. It's also controllable via my iphone.
__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 06:11 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezy33 View Post
I use a x-10 home automation system for lights and pumps. Programmed to cycle lights and power heads and it has a wireless remote. With it I can control every thing including main pumps, skimmer and DIY dosing pumps. It's also controllable via my iphone.
Very cool!
__________________
God is amazing. The proof is in the pudding and the pudding is everywhere
African Leaf Fish Tank Build
GodFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 11:36 PM   #13
member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezy33 View Post
I use a x-10 home automation system for lights and pumps. Programmed to cycle lights and power heads and it has a wireless remote. With it I can control every thing including main pumps, skimmer and DIY dosing pumps. It's also controllable via my iphone.
You can't beat controllers once you have had one you never knew how you lived without one

I think you will agree
__________________
T1KARMANN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 12:06 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by T1KARMANN View Post

You can't beat controllers once you have had one you never knew how you lived without one

I think you will agree
Anbody recomend a good cheap light controller? The coralife one I bought doesnt work.
__________________

__________________
God is amazing. The proof is in the pudding and the pudding is everywhere
African Leaf Fish Tank Build
GodFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.