HOB filter with floating plants?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jehenry89

Aquarium Advice Freak
Is there any way to make this work?? I bought a HOB filter for my new planted tank just due to lack of space. I saw they have hob canister filters but my bed is right next to the tank and I was scared that I would knock it while sleeping. I am kind of stuck with the HOB I have. The species of fish I want to get like floating plants as I have recently learned so is there anything I can do to make this work?

Do you mean with water flow?

I have one tied to a pipe with a bit of string. Sounds bad but the plant is big enough to hide it.

Thanks for the advice. Appreciate it. I thought I was going to be screwed :(. What about a cover?is it better to have it covered or topless? (This is my first time with floating plants)

Glass canopy. I see a lot of pictures with people doing topless with floating plants which is why I was wondering if there are benifits to that compared to going topless.

Glass canopy. I see a lot of pictures with people doing topless with floating plants which is why I was wondering if there are benifits to that compared to going topless.

I'm not sure. I think of it as the same as a glass greenhouse but I'm not a dedicated plant grower.

I use a Perspex cover which I suspect blocks some light at tank depth (as well as decrease by water depth). The floating plant gets trimmed every week and seems to grow well. Mainly I grow it for fry to hide in. I use off-the-shelf led lights which sit on the tank.