Holiday nightmare!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

magoofc

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi I am new to the fish keeping business and need some help. I have a tank which was established for about 2 months it had one betta fish and then I gradually added a few tetras and all seemed to be ok. I have just been on holiday for a week and upon my return I have found all my fish are dead. I think my friend had over fed them although they say they didn't. The water was filthy.
Anyway I have since cleaned out the tank with a 70% water change and have done a few 10% changes daily to reduce my ammonia levels. At present they are still a little high. I am not sure what I should do next? Should I add a few hardy fish or wait until the ammonia levels are even lower or gone by continuing water changes. Not sure if I should have the fish in there already to start new cycling period. Little confused.
Can anyone help?

How big was the tank? Bettas and tetras usually have a hit-and-miss kind of compatibility; I wouldn't be surprised if he was fed up and tried to kill them. But if you say the water was filthy, it was probably something else.

Only bad things happen fast. Be patient. If there's something nasty in the tank that caused all of the fish to die, putting more fish in probably isn't a good idea. I'd give it a couple of weeks while doing periodic water changes and tests to ensure the ammonia goes back to zero.

Hi I have a 30 gallon tank. My betta was a little aggressive. Killed one tetra but was then fine with 5 others for weeks. How often should i change and test the water at the moment? Thanks for your help.

Ok so even though my ammonia level is a little high at the moment I can add some hardy fish to start the cycle? Or would you recommend waiting until the ammonia level drops?

magoofc said: