Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-20-2013, 12:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Sparks, Nv
Posts: 320
House being sprayed for bugs.

So as it says in the title my house is being sprayed for bugs. I was told that the fish will be ok. I'm not 100% happy with being told this. My question is this, what precautions should I take to be more comfortable? I was thinking if just covering the tank with some plastic to eliminate any openings (same thing I did when I painted). Will this be enough?

Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
Pongeer247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 01:10 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bob mccoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: colorado
Posts: 1,441
the fumes rise up from the floor so totally incase them in plastic, tape all plastic to stand or what ever but leave no holes. i learned the hard way and lost 75 quarter size angel fish. also air out the rooms that the tanks are in befor uncovering them.
__________________

__________________
bob mccoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 01:25 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
AngelFishGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 880
Oh my god bob McCoy! Glad to know that we are doing that soon and my step dad was like "they'll be fine" and I was like "NO it's risky!!!"
Glad to know so I can show him this thread!!
__________________
I may be a little TOO obsessed with my angels...
AngelFishGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 01:39 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rlavassor86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 642
It might depend what chemical it is and how much it gets dispersed into the air but I had to flea bomb my house a few years back and I just shut off my filters and pumps and covered the tank for the two hours I had to be gone and I just aired the house out before uncovering and turning the tank back on and I had 0 loss of life. But when it comes to our aquatic friends its always a good idea to be a little more cautious than we probably need to be and if I ever have to bomb the house for bugs again I plan on sealing the tank much better than I did the first time around.
__________________
Rlavassor86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 02:06 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Sparks, Nv
Posts: 320
I certainly don't want any losses. Like I said the company said that they will be safe, but I don't feel comfortable with that. I am going to use some floor plastic we have left over from painting to cover the tanks.

Could I leave the filter on if its covered up? I will be turning off the air pump, don't want to pump anything into the tank.

Thanks for the reassurance on covering my tanks. I never know if I'm being over paranoid with my little fish buddies some times.
__________________
Pongeer247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 02:13 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
DavidAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 756
Good advice so far. In addition, you may want to add activated carbon as a precaution.

David
__________________
DavidAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 02:42 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Sparks, Nv
Posts: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidAl View Post
Good advice so far. In addition, you may want to add activated carbon as a precaution.

David
That's not a bad idea. I was just about to post a thread on carbon for a med tank. I've never used it before so have no idea. Do I just put it into the filter?
__________________
Pongeer247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 02:42 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bob mccoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: colorado
Posts: 1,441
yes u can leave filter running as long as tank is totally covered. also make sure all tank supplies are bagged up and food also. nets and such. anything u touch for the fish bag it up or cover it. i can not stress enough anything to do with your fish bag it or cover it. when it comes to our fish when in doubt ask we can never be to safe
__________________
bob mccoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 03:22 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
DavidAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 756
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pongeer247 View Post
That's not a bad idea. I was just about to post a thread on carbon for a med tank. I've never used it before so have no idea. Do I just put it into the filter?
Yes. Put it in a mesh bag and drop it into the filter. If this is not possible, put it in the path of the outflow. Make sure to wash it first.

David
__________________
DavidAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 05:23 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Sparks, Nv
Posts: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob mccoy View Post
yes u can leave filter running as long as tank is totally covered. also make sure all tank supplies are bagged up and food also. nets and such. anything u touch for the fish bag it up or cover it. i can not stress enough anything to do with your fish bag it or cover it. when it comes to our fish when in doubt ask we can never be to safe
Thank you! They are like family to me. I'm wrapping everything up. Probably put most of it into my car outside the house.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidAl View Post

Yes. Put it in a mesh bag and drop it into the filter. If this is not possible, put it in the path of the outflow. Make sure to wash it first.

David
Pretty easy then. Thank you! I will be getting some carbon today or tomorrow.
__________________
Pongeer247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 05:31 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Goldfish loach boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,167
Well, I have a story

I came home and found a huge roach in my room, I started putting venom in every corner and everything, my mom came to help, as she accidentally caused like 3 drops to fall in my 29 gallon, I thought I was done for, but my fish seem to be ok, this happened 2 days ago and my fish are fine
__________________
Goldfish loach boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 06:22 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Sparks, Nv
Posts: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goldfish loach boy View Post
Well, I have a story

I came home and found a huge roach in my room, I started putting venom in every corner and everything, my mom came to help, as she accidentally caused like 3 drops to fall in my 29 gallon, I thought I was done for, but my fish seem to be ok, this happened 2 days ago and my fish are fine
Ouch! Im glad they are doing fine. Hopefully nothing pops up.

I think I'm more worried about my fry tank then I am about my main tank.
__________________
Pongeer247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 11:08 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Sparks, Nv
Posts: 320
Thanks for the advice and help everyone! All the little fishes are alive and kickin'!
__________________

__________________
Pongeer247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.