How do i clean white sand?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Brian_Nano12g

Aquarium Advice Addict
Just got a new Fluval Edge and set it up 2 weeks ago with Caribsea white sand as the substrate. Cycling it with seeded media from my other tank.

Anyway, I just don't know of any good techniques on how to clean the surface of the sand of all the gunk (i.e. uneaten food, fish poop, etc.) that is discoloring it. If I run a siphon, how do I vacuum the gunk without sucking away the sand? LOL... I've always used gravel in the past and this is my first time using sand. So advice is appreciated!

Use ur siphon just above the gravel. You will still suck up sand but not as much as u think. I got PFS in two tanks and caribsea in another.

Does the sand always look dirty? I am considering it but I am afraid it will always look dirty since it doesnt blend into fish poop.

Does the sand always look dirty? I am considering it but I am afraid it will always look dirty since it doesnt blend into fish poop.

yes, fish poop is alot more noticeable on white sand.
However, I personally like it, so I can clearly see and keep track of the waste and vacuum it accordingly.

I also find it helps remind me of water changes. When I see the dirty sand, its time to clean the tank.

If you don't like the dirty look. You can always purchase BLACK sand.
Hope that helps.

Thanks for all the advice. The white sand definitely has it's pros and cons. When clean, it looks pretty neat. On the downside, everything including poop and leftover food really shows on it. I just know its going to look really bad if my tank goes through the diatom stage (if and when).