How do I know the cycle is happening in new 46 gal tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cliffy1203

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone,

I'm new to aquariums. I just set up a 46 gallon tank with tropical community fish and I asked the LFS for a first set of fish to cycle my tank.
I have 5 sunburst platies, 3 sailfin mollies, and 2 dalmatian mollies, and I love to watch them swim around.

Anyway, my question concerns the first "cycle". I have a small ammonia meter in the tank and it never has really changed color, only the end of the strip turned a little green twice but then went back to yellow. Is this the "ammonia spike" I should be looking for? It doesn't seem like very much.

I am running both an AquaClear 70 hang-on-back filter as well as an Eheim Ecco Pro+ canister filter. Could my two filters affect the development of the first cycle? Or do I not have enough fish to see a true ammonia spike? I am also adding a product called "stability" that the LFS recommended.

How do I know when I can add more fish?

Thanks in advance for any advice you can give! :fish2:

cliffy1203

That stability stuff might be why your not really seeing it. I've used this stuff called startzyme that had a, bunch of the good bacteria in it and I never got much of a spike.

You may be right, Stability is supposed to add good bacteria, so perhaps it will keep my ammonia level from spiking. So, despite never having much of a spike, your tank is fully cycled and the filters are populated with good bacteria? Without the noticeable ammonia spike, when did you feel comfortable adding more fish to the tank?

Stability contains the wrong bacteria. The bacteria that colonizes your filter are a different kind. If it where me id stop using it all together.