Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-14-2012, 05:32 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Anddreaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Oxnard, California right on the beach
Posts: 24
How do I use my water condioner properly?

Hello! I have a question about my water conditioner it says 5ml, which is approximately one cap full, treats 2 liters of water (0.5 US gal) but I have a Plastic tank for my fish.. It's a bit bigger than the ones you would get at like the fair and it's a lot nicer too but I don't want to put too much conditioner in the tank, if it's possible to put in too much, so is a cap full fine for my fish tank? And I have a few other questions about this
-when cleaning the water can I Put the conditioner directly in the tank or do I mix the water with the conditioner then put it in the tank?
-do I have to wait a certain amount of time after I put in the conditioner before I put my fish in?
__________________

__________________
Anddreaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 05:49 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bud29's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: In a van, down by the river
Posts: 3,673
Send a message via Yahoo to bud29
The water conditioner should work instantly. It is recommended to put the conditioner in the bucket of new water before it goes in the tank.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
bud29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 06:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Anddreaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Oxnard, California right on the beach
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by bud29
The water conditioner should work instantly. It is recommended to put the conditioner in the bucket of new water before it goes in the tank.
Okay that's you (:
Do you think the dosage is okay for my tank? As there such a thing as putting in too much?
__________________
Anddreaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 06:05 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Anddreaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Oxnard, California right on the beach
Posts: 24
I meant thank you haha
__________________
Anddreaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 06:22 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bud29's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: In a van, down by the river
Posts: 3,673
Send a message via Yahoo to bud29
As long as you go by the directions you should be fine.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
bud29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 06:26 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Anddreaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Oxnard, California right on the beach
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by bud29
As long as you go by the directions you should be fine.
Alright thank you
__________________
Anddreaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 06:46 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bud29's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: In a van, down by the river
Posts: 3,673
Send a message via Yahoo to bud29
Glad I could help
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
bud29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 07:11 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
boadams87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kershaw SC
Posts: 1,702
Ill put mine in then add water
__________________
boadams87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 07:25 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Anddreaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Oxnard, California right on the beach
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by boadams87
Ill put mine in then add water
Directly in the tank?
__________________
Anddreaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 11:07 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
boadams87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kershaw SC
Posts: 1,702
Yes. Then start filling.
__________________
boadams87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 11:13 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Anddreaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Oxnard, California right on the beach
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by boadams87
Yes. Then start filling.
Okay thank you
__________________
Anddreaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 11:16 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
boadams87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kershaw SC
Posts: 1,702
I do have a python water changer. Are you using one or a bucket?
__________________
boadams87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 11:48 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Anddreaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Oxnard, California right on the beach
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by boadams87
I do have a python water changer. Are you using one or a bucket?
I have my fish in a plastic tank.. I barely got him and I want to make sure if I have to change the water that I do it properly
__________________
Anddreaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 12:24 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
boadams87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kershaw SC
Posts: 1,702
Ok id just mix it in buckets then slowly add it
__________________
boadams87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 12:29 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Anddreaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Oxnard, California right on the beach
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by boadams87
Ok id just mix it in buckets then slowly add it
thank you(:
__________________
Anddreaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 12:31 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Anddreaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Oxnard, California right on the beach
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by boadams87
Ok id just mix it in buckets then slowly add it
Can you put too much conditioner? Or does it not matter if you go over the recommended amount?
__________________
Anddreaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 12:49 AM   #17
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
No it won't hurt anything.
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 01:38 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Anddreaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Oxnard, California right on the beach
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetajockey
No it won't hurt anything.
Thank you! That was my main concern(:
__________________
Anddreaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 04:35 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Some people say that you have to let it sit for a couple hour or so. is this true?
__________________
Patar664 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 05:08 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ocminpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 2,279
Send a message via AIM to ocminpin Send a message via Yahoo to ocminpin Send a message via Skype™ to ocminpin
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patar664
Some people say that you have to let it sit for a couple hour or so. is this true?
No it works instantly
__________________

__________________
ocminpin
ocminpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.