Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-03-2006, 02:35 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ashland KY
Posts: 1,918
Send a message via Yahoo to tropicfishman
how do phospahtes get in water

ok besides the fact they can be in your tap water, how do they get there? does the water treatment plant add them for some kind of filtering additive or do they occur naturally? cuz my tap test pretty high for phosphates and so does my tank and i've exhausted myself trying to figure out why its so high, thanks for any help
__________________

__________________
I love my clown loaches and red tail shark!!! lol
tropicfishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 03:17 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
Could be run off from fertilizers.
__________________

__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 03:34 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
QTOFFER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kew Gardens, NY
Posts: 4,295
Phosphates in tap water most likely come from ferterlizer runoff or possibly from phosphate rich minerals in the area. Fish food contains phosphates too.

If your tap water is high, the only thing you can do is mix in some RO water. Are you having grief with algae?
__________________
QTOFFER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 10:35 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,082
Send a message via AIM to krap101
i have a feeling im way off, but cant phosphates come from certain rocks?
__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 11:42 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ashland KY
Posts: 1,918
Send a message via Yahoo to tropicfishman
Its weird outta nowhere brown hiar algea has covered my bubble tube, a small plant in front and has now bloomed on the front glass, in the same place everytime, no matter how many times I remove it it keeps coming back
__________________
I love my clown loaches and red tail shark!!! lol
tropicfishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 12:03 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,543
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
What are your exact nitrate and phosphate readings? You can try Seachem PhosGuard. It will lower your levels to under .5 ppm, but has to be replaced when the phosphates rise again, every few weeks, although at first it may rise again in days.
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 04:01 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ashland KY
Posts: 1,918
Send a message via Yahoo to tropicfishman
My current phosphates for one tank is way over 10.0 ppm and the other is at 0.0 ppm amazingly, they both share a Nitrate level way over 160 ppm, I'm using API test kits and there all brand new. Could I not have a great enough bacteria colonie somehoe, the tank ahs been up for around 6 months, even when I vaccuum now I barely get any waste as it is
__________________
I love my clown loaches and red tail shark!!! lol
tropicfishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 05:39 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,543
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
Are you using the same substrate and food for both tanks? Live plants in either tank? Any rocks in the tank with high po4? With 160 ppm nitrate, it sounds like its been a while since you've done a water change, so I think that would be my first course of action. Atleast 50%. They day after, do another 50%, followed by another the following day. Your nitrates should be well under 20-30 ppm by then which is much more manageable than 160 ppm.

As far as a bacterial colony, as long as your tank is reading 0 ammonia and 0 nitrite, you don't have a problem there.

Also, sorry if you already mentioned this, but what does your tap water test in phosphate? How about nitrate?
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 05:58 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BrianNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 4,535
This sounds like BBA to me. As far as I know, phosphates aren't the problem. It's something that is very difficult to get a handle on. You must be diligent about removing it or it will take over.
__________________
BrianNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 02:59 PM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
Menagerie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 13,230
BBA?
__________________

Menagerie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 06:21 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ashland KY
Posts: 1,918
Send a message via Yahoo to tropicfishman
black beard algea
__________________

__________________
I love my clown loaches and red tail shark!!! lol
tropicfishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phospahtes & Brush Algae help? Jman17H Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 08-24-2006 03:40 PM
Bacteria bloom (white cloudy water) in water change tub? 20 20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 01-16-2006 01:44 PM
Max Time Keeping Marine Water in Water/Air Tight Drums flanque General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 02:25 AM
Brita filtered water: Ph 7, softens water, remove bad stuff Blucat Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-21-2005 09:12 PM
QT water, should I use fresh slat water or old tank water? MadManMac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-27-2004 08:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.