Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-26-2006, 06:07 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
How do YOU do your PWC?

What are the different ways that people do PWCs? Is there a "right" way to do a PWC?

I have a Python, so I use the Python to pull xx% of the water, then after matching the tap water temp to the tank water temp, add enough AquaSafe or Prime to the tank and then fill straight from the tap through the Python. Seems to work just fine for the kids... Everyone stays healthy!

Is this an acceptable way to do the PWC?
__________________

__________________
Darb21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 06:22 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
QTOFFER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kew Gardens, NY
Posts: 4,295
That's how I do my PWCs. I also gravel vac as much as I can around the plants - sometimes I move the stones and driftwood over so I can vac under them too.
__________________

__________________
QTOFFER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 06:36 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 863
I gravel vac every time I vacuum and rinse the filter cartridges in the old water and put them back in the filter. About half the water I vacuum I remove water from the top of the tank, the other half I take from the gravel. I add a little bit of Prime to the water I add each time.

They've taught me well here I think.
__________________
lovemybarbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 06:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 787
I use a short python to fill up 3g buckets until I have removed enough water, then I put dechlorinator and a litte salt in them and fill them from the tap to put into the tank. I don't vacuum every time as that always causes a small ammonia spike in the water.
__________________
Jaybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 06:56 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Columbia, Maryland
Posts: 330
My planted tanks get water off the surface, un-planted tank it almost all comes off from the gravel vac. Right into the bucket, bucket into the shower, pull water right off the bathtub...then back into the tanks.

No, I don't use water conditioners of any type. They take over a week to work correctly anyways, and by that time I've done 2 more water changes. Any my fishs health has gone up since I stopped.
__________________
One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish
CompMage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 07:26 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: perth australia
Posts: 1,599
my water gets syphoned straight out onto the lawn via garden hose.
length is long enough to be no chance of sucking any water in.
Then just hook it up to the outside tap and fill it up again.
I only change around 15% weekly and don't use any conditioner either.
I also haven't had to gravel vac for 3 months even considering my rather overly stocked tank .

I don't think there is any real right or wrong way to do a pwc, its whatever is best for you and what resources are available.
__________________
Dimidiochromis compressiceps,
Astatotilapia latifasciata
Melanochromis cyaneorhabdos
Labidochromis caeruleus
Cynotilapia afra 'Cobue'
Pseudotropheus acei 'Msuli Point'
Aulunocara stuartgranti 'chipoka'
Labidochromis freibergi
Oreochromis mossambicus
Etroplus suratensis
DeFeKt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 07:44 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by CompMage
No, I don't use water conditioners of any type. They take over a week to work correctly anyways, and by that time I've done 2 more water changes. Any my fishs health has gone up since I stopped.
You don't use Prime or anything like that? It takes a week to work? I'm confused by this statement. I thought you had to get rid of the chlorine or it would kill your fish?
__________________
Rondory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 08:14 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: perth australia
Posts: 1,599
i don't agree with it taking a week to work, it does however take a few hours to a day to work, which in that time the chlorine would have worked itself out anyway. It is NOT an instant fix and obviously will still take time to work, but if your changing 10-15gallons out of a 100g the levels are that low anyway.
__________________
Dimidiochromis compressiceps,
Astatotilapia latifasciata
Melanochromis cyaneorhabdos
Labidochromis caeruleus
Cynotilapia afra 'Cobue'
Pseudotropheus acei 'Msuli Point'
Aulunocara stuartgranti 'chipoka'
Labidochromis freibergi
Oreochromis mossambicus
Etroplus suratensis
DeFeKt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 08:23 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
You would have to click the link below to see how I do it. Pythons were just way too much hassle for me:

http://home.comcast.net/~tomstank/to...s/page0015.htm
__________________
TomK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 08:25 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
I unplug filters and heaters, get my python out and clean the sand. Match water temps and add dechlorinator while refilling. Turn filters and heaters back on.
__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 08:31 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
I get my gravel vac and buckets out. Remove three bucket of water lug them to the bathroom empty them in the toilet. I then fill them up in the bathtub with correct temperature water add prime and pour back into the tank. Repeat process on the other tank. Rest do it one more time on the turtle tank. Done.
__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 08:39 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: RI
Posts: 624
Python..........no prime.........just tap water.......from my well.
It's alittle hard but other than that .......the fish love it straight from the tap!

What I am worried about is when I get shrimp.........i hear that you shouldn't use your hot water to temper the water when filling a shrimp tank.
Something about the impurities that collect in the hot water tank.

Pythons are awesome!
GlitcH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 09:03 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: johnson city, tennessee
Posts: 137
man that tom2k guy is the mcguyver of fish tanks
__________________
sith j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 09:44 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
I had some help. AFM or TFH had an article once about a guy with a huge display tank on the second floor in a living room, and then this guy put a huge sump, holding tank, and all his equipment directly below it in his basement. Thus, no tank duties in his living room, other than feeding and glass cleaning. Maybe a gravel vac now and then. And no room wasted on equipment in the living room either. And he got to have a huge water volume... well beyond the tanks volume.

That got the wheels turning, and I have duplicated it, in most functions, except for the sump. I was going to DIY sump, but took the easy way out with the canister filters. I had to figure out the siphon breaks, and many on AA in the DIY forum had some higher tech ideas (selenoids and such) that would work. But I am a low tech kinda guy, and other than the pumps, there are no moving parts to fail. Tank room is a lot quiter with the equpment in the next room too. It took several years and a few home sales before I ran into a situation that I could build it without putting my marriage at risk.
__________________

__________________
TomK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pwc

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PWC Solarris Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 11-20-2009 06:36 PM
pwc timwag2001 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 17 03-30-2009 09:56 PM
How Often Do You PWC? Pleco Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 28 10-11-2006 11:46 PM
how do you do PWC hc8719 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 54 07-24-2006 10:01 PM
PWC - How much? Charlie Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 07-24-2006 01:43 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.