How many fish for a 50 gallon?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Daryth Darkmoon

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm still pretty new to all of this, so I'm not entirely sure how many fish I should be adding to my 50 gallon. I allowed it to cycle, and started with 2 fantail goldfish for a few weeks before adding a few more.

I'm currently up to 5 fantails. (for those that have read my other posts, the crayfish is getting his own tank very soon and has been removed from the 50)

I'm just not sure what other types of fish I should add, or how many.

I'll accept any and all advice, and photos are welcome.

I was hoping for angelfish, but I don't know how well they would do with the fantails. That and my local dealers don't seem to be able to get their hands on them often enough. Particualrly the Koi Angels, of which I was hoping for 2 with a decent amount of orange. But I am rambling again.

ya angels would be cool, seems like you could mybe put in some bottem dwellers as well as the angels, just stay away for fin nippers like tiger barbs some rosy barbs would be cool as well i think they are more peaceful, but they do get big, maybe one male gourami as well.

just a thought

I was thinking of maybe a piscus catfish for bottom dwelling...
just wondering if something like
5 fantails
4 angels
1 piscus
1 pleco

would be too much for the tank.

I could remove 2 of the fantails as long as I do it while they're still small.

I had also briefly considered an axolotl, but the tank conditions wouldn't be right.

5 fantails
4 angels
1 piscus
1 pleco

unfortunatly tank conditions won't be right for this mixture anyway, goldies are coldwater fish, angels, pictus and plecos are more tropicals and prefer warmer climates to thrive.