How many fish in 10g?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Todd2

Aquarium Advice Freak

I recently got a 10g aquarium. I am a newbie and this is my first aquarium. I have been doing a lot of reading on the net and just added 2 zebra danios today to start the cycle. Will 6 zebra danios and 3 cory cats be too much in my 10g. I have a Penguin 125 filter.

That is about the max for a 10 gallon. Stick with that amount and you will be fine. Just make sure during the cycle to keep checking the ammonia and nitrite levels and whenever you detect any then do a water change. This won't slow the cycle down as if there is any amount detectable that means the bacteria present can't handle the load. And also remember that every new fish you add will mean a new small cycle as the bacteria adjust.

10 inches in length is the best, what you will have should not be a overload. Just remember fish grow too!!! :fadein:

megnmick said:
10 inches in length is the best, what you will have should not be a overload. Just remember fish grow too!!! :fadein:

The 1inch of fish to 1gal of water is pretty much a myth.

Much like the myth of fish not growing larger than their tank allows.

Also, you have to look at how much waste a fish produces, as well as what level do they reside in the tank. Top bottom or middle.

Inch Myth