Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-24-2012, 01:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Brox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 237
How to reduce input/input flow on my AC110

Hi, I have a 40G tank with a Aquaclear 110. I want to reduce it so it won't suck in as bad or so fish and plants won't get sucked in and stuck to it. Will a regular sponge or filter mediA from the ac110 work?
__________________

__________________
Brox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 01:44 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,011
Hagen AC Filters

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brox View Post
Hi, I have a 40G tank with a Aquaclear 110. I want to reduce it so it won't suck in as bad or so fish and plants won't get sucked in and stuck to it. Will a regular sponge or filter mediA from the ac110 work?
Hello Brox...

There's a small lever on top of the filter that will adjust the flow. Just push the lever all the way to the right. That will slow the flow of water.

That's a pretty powerful filter for such a small tank. The 40 G only needs a filter with a gallon per hour (gph) rating of 6 times the volume of the tank in gallons. That's 240 gallons per hour. An AC 70 turns over 300 gallons, so that would be plenty and the water flow wouldn't be as strong. The 70 is less expensive too.

Just a thought.

B
__________________

__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 01:58 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Brox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBradbury

Hello Brox...

There's a small lever on top of the filter that will adjust the flow. Just push the lever all the way to the right. That will slow the flow of water.

That's a pretty powerful filter for such a small tank. The 40 G only needs a filter with a gallon per hour (gph) rating of 6 times the volume of the tank in gallons. That's 240 gallons per hour. An AC 70 turns over 300 gallons, so that would be plenty and the water flow wouldn't be as strong. The 70 is less expensive too.

Just a thought.

B
I did have it on the lower setting. Its better but I just to be able to put plants closer to it.
__________________
Brox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 02:26 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Mudfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: VA
Posts: 925
Send a message via Yahoo to Mudfrog
You could try a prefilter on the intake tube.
__________________
125g - FX5 - CF500UV - Bichirs - Catfish - Clown Loaches - Oddballs

40g Breeder - Fluval 306 - HW402B - Grow Out Tank - Clown Loaches - Leopard Leaf Fish
Mudfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.