Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-28-2014, 08:11 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Gibberwatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 226
Hyoithetically, what if...

So, I am looking to add some fish, but my only options are Petco/Petsmart, so I figured that I better have a quarantine tank. Since all my filters run on Aquaclear substrate, which has foam blocks, I figured that I could have a only temporarily filled aquarium, with the filter substrate living in a different filter during the time when I am not acclimating/fixing fish (This also serves to make my parents less mad, with two tanks already).

However, my only option right now is a three gallon bucket (again, the Parents Against Tanks front), and that is not conducive to a filter. So my question is, would it work for me just to put the filter foam in the tank with the sick fish, and not bother with the filter? Would that work if I did lots of partial water changes?

Also, if this works, this will make my father happy, who already feels that I use too many plugs. He calls my room The Power Plant.
__________________

__________________
Sometimes, you just have to buy a fish.

Sometimes, you really shouldn't
Gibberwatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 08:34 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,104
No, that won't work. You need water flow over the bio-media. Also, your fish will more than likely run out of oxygen.

Get yourself a sponge filter.

Also, substrate is the stuff at the bottom of the tank.
__________________

__________________
dalto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 06:34 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Gibberwatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 226
I know what substrate is, I had a brain fart. oops. I guess I have to get a filter.
__________________
Sometimes, you just have to buy a fish.

Sometimes, you really shouldn't
Gibberwatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 09:07 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Matt68005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,776
Fish will die if kept in a bucket. A ten gallon tank is 12.99 and you need only an air stone in it, just be prepared to do daily PWC


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Matt68005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 08:32 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Gibberwatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 226
I would like to get a tank, but again, the Parents Against Tanks front won't allow me.

Do you think melafix + lots of PWC could handle whatever Petco brings home?



And a tetra I had in a bucket for a few days stayed alive. Was the dying thing time related?
__________________
Sometimes, you just have to buy a fish.

Sometimes, you really shouldn't
Gibberwatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 08:38 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,104
A sponge filter is very inexpensive and could easily be placed inside the bucket. They are also very useful to have around.
__________________
dalto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 04:19 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
MollysMollies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Albuquerque, NM-USA
Posts: 133
I am contemplating making my 4.5 gal rectangle bucket a temp QT tank. I have a sponge filter that I just placed in my established tank about two weeks ago. How long does it take to grow enough BB on the sponge in order for a successful transfer of the sponge filter to my QT bucket?
__________________
MollysMollies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 01:58 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Laird-and-Dad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 243
Send a message via Skype™ to Laird-and-Dad
__________________
Laird-and-Dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 02:01 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laird-and-Dad View Post
Someone will have to check me on this, but could he put this in a small QT bucket?
As long as it physically fits inside the bucket and the top of it is below the water level it should be fine
__________________
dalto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 02:24 PM   #10
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
Even just an airstone would be fine if you are doing daily water changes anyway. A seeded sponge filter would be better though and require less water changes if the container was instantly cycled (it'd depend on the readings)
__________________

__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.