Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-07-2013, 07:09 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
I need help?

I just set up my first tank it's a 55 gallon I added tetra safe start yesterday an today I decided to add some new gravel I rinsed the gravel well in tap water and also let all water drain in strainer now Iam wondering if the chlorine from the grave could harm the fish or the good bacteria in TSS I would jut add prime but I don't want that to kill the good bacteria so do you guys think that would be enough chlorine to do Damage thanks! This is really bothering me lol
__________________

__________________
Spyderco93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 07:13 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Krissycakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Kailua Kona, Hawaii
Posts: 1,043
Did you get aquarium gravel? Do you know how much chlorine is in your tap? Try leave your gravel to dry in the sun for a couple days, the sun should help.
__________________

__________________
Krissycakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 07:20 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
Tap water is about 8.2 and yea I should of left it out but it's I the tank now think ill b fine it's been a few hrs and all fish are acting normal
__________________
Spyderco93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 07:23 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Brilliant_Barbs_21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southern New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyderco93 View Post
Tap water is about 8.2 and yea I should of left it out but it's I the tank now think ill b fine it's been a few hrs and all fish are acting normal
Chlorine usually shows signs in the fish within hours at high traces. But it could slowly kill everything in low traces. I'd add a water conditioner like stress coat to be safe. EDIT: Just saw your chlorine levels in your tap. Add water conditioner right away! That's quite high. You don't want any deaths.
__________________
Brilliant_Barbs_21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 07:28 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
I just don't want prime to kill all the stuff in safe start but if it will really affect the fish I guess it's worth it to add some
__________________
Spyderco93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 08:21 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Brilliant_Barbs_21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southern New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyderco93 View Post
I just don't want prime to kill all the stuff in safe start but if it will really affect the fish I guess it's worth it to add some
I don't believe that the prime will kill off any of the nitrifying bacteria. I've never used it though so I'm not 100% sure.
__________________
Brilliant_Barbs_21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 08:40 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Krissycakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Kailua Kona, Hawaii
Posts: 1,043
I use tetra aqua safe I believe. When I do water changes, the day before, I fill a 5g bucket to the line. And add 2.5ml using a syringe. Put my air stone in and bubble the gas out all night. Next morning if I need to do a WC, I just take out however much is needed and I use the water in the bucket, and fill it back up and repeat the process.

I end up using all the water in the bucket so I make a new batch of water everytime.
__________________
Krissycakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 08:42 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flitabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pipestone, Minnesota
Posts: 1,929
Prime doesn't kill anything. It just removes clorine cloramine heavy metals and temporarily turns ammo and nitrites to a less toxic form while still leaving it available for your bacteria. So yeah get it in there and do it fast and maybe a double dose to save what is left of your bb.
__________________
flitabout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 12:42 AM   #9
jlk
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: philadelphia suburbs
Posts: 11,119
Hi! Water conditioner will handle the chlorine in your tap. Just make sure you are dosing to your tank size. Are you familiar with the nitrogen cycle and fish-in cycling? You mentioned this was a brand new tank and you already added fish. Do you have an API/other brand of liquid test kit to measure your parameters?

I just learned about cycling but I already have fish. What now?! - Aquarium Advice
__________________
jlk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 04:47 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
Yes thank you!
__________________

__________________
Spyderco93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.