I wanna beat up a platies fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

michaelg210

Aquarium Advice Activist
I am rather new to fishkeeping. Recently acquired 3 Platies, beautiful colors. All 3 are males.

However, one is just slightly bigger than the other two and constantly picks on them, nipping at their fins, tails, and bodies. He even takes them head on.

I wondered if perhaps he is just establishing dominance or something, but this guy is an incorrigible repeat offender.

Is this normal or do I have a psychotic fish. Is there any way to treat it or should I return him for a more mellow platie?

My platies behave exactly the same as yours do. I also have 3 males.
Knowing what I know now, I wish I had gotten 3 females rather than 3 males;).
They have calmed down some though since I got them. The runt of the three still gets picked on by the other two, but for the most part they behave.
If you just got them, you'll probably see less and less outright aggression, though they will still chase each other.

I put my "terrors" in time-out. Yep, time-out. Each time you see him terrorize the others, dip him into a net and hold it against the glass so he can't get out for a few minutes. Fish can learn behaviors, notice they swim to the top whenever you walk by? They think you're going to feed them, that's learned behavior.

With most fish it is best to keep them of 2:1 female to male ratio at least, the more females the better. They will most likely be less aggressive, and too few females will result in them constantly being harrassed by the male.

Time out