Ich has begun...help!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

slipperysalmon

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi- I'm a newbie...my daughter has a little 5 gal tank with two fantail goldfish in her bedroom. It does not have a heater. I noticed this morning that the fish have tiny salt grain-like spots on them. I am familiar with the chemicals in ich treatments, and will not be using them, especially in her room.

Anybody have any advice on what to do?:(

slipperysalmon said:
Hi- I'm a newbie...my daughter has a little 5 gal tank with two fantail goldfish in her bedroom. It does not have a heater. I noticed this morning that the fish have tiny salt grain-like spots on them. I am familiar with the chemicals in ich treatments, and will not be using them, especially in her room.

Anybody have any advice on what to do?:(

First off... Those goldfish need at least a 30 gallon tank, with a filter. Read the link in my sig on fishless cycling for details on setting it up. As for the ich... Go out and buy some API aquarium salt and a heater, heat the water to 86 degrees, and drop in one tablespoon of salt per 5 gallons of water.

You can treat it with freshwater aquarium salt and heat (I think you'd need the tank to come to 86 degrees) but I don't know how quick or effective it is. I think if you look in the articles section you can find them.

I also know some Ich treatments are different from others, though that's a case of looking at the individual med's and figuring out what they are.

Either way, I know an imediate, major water change is in order. HOpefully someone more knowledgable than me answers you soon... I mostly replied with the basics cause I know how panicked you can get when something starts going wrong and no one see's you right away.

I don't understand why you don't want to use the chemical treatments.