Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-11-2013, 10:32 PM   #41
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
My 2 cents. There might be something in the gravel or the gravel itself. In April I setup a new tank with EcoComplete and was planning to do a fishless cycle. Well, ammonia was +8.0 ppm (I did not add any ammonia). 90% WC, tested ammonia (0.25-0.5), 8 hours later it was > 8.0. Was doing daily 90% WCs and getting the same result over a week. Ended up tossing the gravel, cleaning the tank and starting over. Did not reoccur.
Not saying that you should do the same, just something to consider.
__________________

__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 10:43 PM   #42
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
Wow, I have used everything from Eco to pfs to flourite to pretty much everything that CaribSea makes, lol. I have never had an ammonia problem that stemmed from substrate. I'm not saying you are wrong about your experience, I'm just explaining my reluctance to blame the substrate. I am interested to hear an ammo reading after 5 timed minutes, but I am not ruling anything out.
__________________

severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 10:56 PM   #43
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bichir Bro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1,773
I'm agreeing with Severum mama, I don't believe you need to rip apart your tank but you do need to get the fish out IF your next CORRECT test comes back the same. Now about the dead fish, I'm sorry for your loss, I have no clue on. Let's just see how your next test comes out. So update us as soon as possible soon please.
__________________
Bichir Bro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 11:51 PM   #44
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by severum mama View Post
Wow, I have used everything from Eco to pfs to flourite to pretty much everything that CaribSea makes, lol. I have never had an ammonia problem that stemmed from substrate. I'm not saying you are wrong about your experience, I'm just explaining my reluctance to blame the substrate. I am interested to hear an ammo reading after 5 timed minutes, but I am not ruling anything out.
Okay, my I cent
An isolated event where the root cause was not confirmed and as I read back through my thread (Unknown Ammonia Source) it appears that something (fungal, bacterial) established itself in the tank, filter, and gravel.
I agree, a reading at 5 minutes sharp should be helpful.
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 12:22 AM   #45
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Rockford IL
Posts: 286
Dman I hope the 5 min test had better results. If it is still high then please remove everything from the tank including the watter and fill it back up. After a couple hours of declorination put the fish back in.

Everyone is against uneeded work however we need to make sure your filter can handle the bioload of only the fish before we add more to this equation
__________________
Brad M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 09:28 AM   #46
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
dman0617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 109
*UPDATE*
This morning at 6:30am Oct.,12 2013 the rest of my guppies have gone to guppie heaven.
I now have 4 neon tetras left they look like they are doing good they seem to be hanging in there. Last night I did a 90% WC. Have not tested water as of yet I will when I get home from work and will post a video of the testing or a picture of the test at 5 min.
__________________
dman0617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 09:30 AM   #47
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Rockford IL
Posts: 286
Sorry again buddy. You did remove them from the tank before you left for work right?
__________________
Brad M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 09:38 AM   #48
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
dman0617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad M View Post
Sorry again buddy. You did remove them from the tank before you left for work right?
Um no should i have and thanks Brad
__________________
dman0617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 09:42 AM   #49
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
dman0617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 109
Ok Im thinking of taking out the gravel and replacing it with sand the other tank i have has sand and gravel and that tank seem stable and it has a ryukin and a albino cory in it. So my question if I take out the tetras and place them in a bucket how long can i leave them in that bucket with a heater.
__________________
dman0617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 09:43 AM   #50
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Rockford IL
Posts: 286
Yea dman a dead fish will produce a ton of ammonia if left in the tank. Is someone at home to remove them?
__________________
Brad M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 09:46 AM   #51
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
dman0617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad M View Post
Yea dman a dead fish will produce a ton of ammonia if left in the tank. Is someone at home to remove them?
Oh wait you meant the dead fish i already removed the dead fish cant leave dead fish in a tank i know that at least
__________________
dman0617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 09:47 AM   #52
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Rockford IL
Posts: 286
If you have an air pump and air stone in there as well its like a tank and could last 24 hours or so until ammonia builds up
__________________
Brad M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 09:48 AM   #53
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
dman0617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad M View Post
If you have an air pump and air stone in there as well its like a tank and could last 24 hours or so until ammonia builds up
I have a pump and two air stones in there but im not understanding you comment
__________________
dman0617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 09:53 AM   #54
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Rockford IL
Posts: 286
The basics for short term life for fish are heat air and water quality. An air stone helps with the air part by creating more surface area for air to enter the water.
__________________
Brad M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 09:57 AM   #55
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
dman0617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad M View Post
The basics for short term life for fish are heat air and water quality. An air stone helps with the air part by creating more surface area for air to enter the water.
I understand that i have two air stones two HOB filters that create a water fall and a heater at 75 degrees
__________________
dman0617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 11:22 AM   #56
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Rockford IL
Posts: 286
Sorry if im being confusing. Let me circle back, how long do you want to keep the fish in the bucket? Few hours a day?
__________________
Brad M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 11:31 AM   #57
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
usarng2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 23
I am overstocked in my tank and my ammonia is at zero... I have put a ammonia media in my filter.... it seems to be working ..... I use a sponge, charcoal, ammonia media, and on top bio media ... and this has kept my water levels perfect ... and I am way overstocked...
__________________
usarng2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 01:00 PM   #58
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
dman0617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by usarng2000 View Post
I am overstocked in my tank and my ammonia is at zero... I have put a ammonia media in my filter.... it seems to be working ..... I use a sponge, charcoal, ammonia media, and on top bio media ... and this has kept my water levels perfect ... and I am way overstocked...
What is a ammonia media
__________________
dman0617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 01:10 PM   #59
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Rockford IL
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by dman0617 View Post

What is a ammonia media
There are filter medias out there designed to remove or add stuff to the tanks while providing a place for BB to grow.

I use phosphate and carbon media in my brackish tank. The phosphate reduces phosphates in the tank and helps keep algea levels down and the carbon helps pull hard metals from the water making the tank very clean.

An ammonia media would help reduce ammonia but I dont think this would solve your issue.
__________________
Brad M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 01:21 PM   #60
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
dman0617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad M View Post

There are filter medias out there designed to remove or add stuff to the tanks while providing a place for BB to grow.

I use phosphate and carbon media in my brackish tank. The phosphate reduces phosphates in the tank and helps keep algea levels down and the carbon helps pull hard metals from the water making the tank very clean.

An ammonia media would help reduce ammonia but I dont think this would solve your issue.
So its called ammonia mediA
__________________

__________________
dman0617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.