Intentional fish-o-cide!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

frsh36gal

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I've been keeping aquariums for 3 years now and cannot believe something I saw yesterday. I work in a large five star hotel and I noticed that our business center suddenly had an aquarium last night. OMG! Here was a brand new, un-cycled 10 gallon aquarium, with about 50 fish in it, only half full of water, filter lost its syphon, and five floating fish. This couldn't have been set up for more than 6 hours. My first though was who the h$%@ do I yell at in the morning (I work overnight and meet them everyday). I gave them a piece of my mind at 9am, telling them that with that set up I was amazed there were any left alive. Apparently the tank was to be a prize for the christmas party we hold for the staffs children. I told him he would be lucky if any were alive at noon. What does he reply with?!? "Well the store said they'd last til' at least 6pm." WTF? I told him to leave any fish left alive for me as I've just been cycling a new 30 gallon. They're sitting in a bowl right now (25 left) receiving 20% water changes every hour or so.....I've given up on believing that there are decent pet stores out there.

some people dont even concider fish to have any feeling what so ever... Its horrible. Just because they cant whimper when something hurts, or get a sad face when somethings bothering them.
ignorance... *sigh*

And just what was going to happen when a kid gets to take home a tank with a bunch of dead fish?? Some Christmas prize that is :evil:

Not only does he take home a "prize" of a tank full of fish, his joy is certain to grow as he watches the whole thing turn into a glass bucket of death. The kid would never forget such a thing -