Is An Air Pump Required?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JackSpadesSI

Aquarium Advice Freak
Is an air pump required for a freshwater tank (30g long)? I think I'll pass if it is just a matter of aesthetics. My filtration is a Fluval 305.

This tank isn't set up yet (it will be in about a week) so I'm not sure how much surface agitation that filter will provide. I've never used a canister filter before.

The fish will be community fish and the plants will be fake.

Please let me know. Thanks!

It really depends on the depth of the tank and the amount of surface agitation. How deep is your tank?

The tank is 36x12x16 from the outside. Obviously, the water line will be less than 16". As I haven't filled it yet, I'm not sure on the exact water height.

I dont like airpumps, they get noisey after a while. I just use my outake from my fluval 205 and have it agitate the surface of the water. I also have a powehead doing the same thing on the other side of the tank.

As Steve is alluding to, sufficient surface agitation should create enough gas exchange to provide enough oxygen for your fish.

You really don't need an air pump if you have some surface agitation. I don't run one on any of my tanks.

I always find that my fish are alot more active when the air pump is on , but i say if you have more than 5 fish you should have an air pump

I always find that my fish are alot more active when the air pump is on , but i say if you have more than 5 fish you should have an air pump