Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-03-2013, 03:27 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Fishlover3578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 841
Is boiling water to hear up wter for waterchange safe

I don't want to wit for water to get room temp can I boil it and then test it's temp before adding to tank ?
__________________

__________________
Fishlover3578 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 03:40 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bshenanagins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,583
You could prob do that if you leave a thermometer in there until it gets to your desired temp. Leave it on low it won't take long to raise the temp
__________________

__________________
bshenanagins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 06:22 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Fishlover3578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 841
I did he thermometer up high to gt it fast cuz it was 50% on a 29 g
__________________
Fishlover3578 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 06:53 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
Just use the hot and cold control on your tap to get the temperature close to the temperature of your tank.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishlover3578 View Post
I did he thermometer up high to gt it fast cuz it was 50% on a 29 g
I mean no disrespect here, but I cannot make heads or tails of this. Please post in complete sentences.
severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 07:07 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Fishlover3578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 841
I used a heater in the container I had my water in . I filled it with a garden hose that is a few months old. I used the water for a 50% WC on a 29 gal
__________________
Fishlover3578 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 08:26 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 166
I use a 5 gallon bucket under the bathtub spigot and just put my hand to estimate the temperature. Im usually within 1-3 degrees. Hot water heater goes up to 125 degrees. And why do your fish need 212+ ?
__________________
Baddog671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 10:46 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Masha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 996
Doesn't boiling water remove oxygen?
__________________
Masha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 11:08 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Fett999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ipswich
Posts: 107
The warmer the water is the less oxygen it can hold, so as you increase the temp, the water will shed oxygen.
__________________
Fett999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 12:14 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Fishlover3578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 841
I was just going to boil water a small amount to bring the rest up to temp. I can't use inside water due to softner system... Oh and my water looks like lake water from outside faucet so I may have to use my parents city water ugh it's kinda green
__________________

__________________
Fishlover3578 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.