Is it me or is my tank slowly leaking?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Hiram1982

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Okay so I've got a 55 gal. glass aquarium. It's setup with freshwater and gravel. I noticed that the water level in my tank was dropping slowly than I expected. I checked the stand and yup its slowly leaking. My problem is the stand isn't metal, it's what I call compressed board, if you know what I mean by that. In other words the water that is leaking from my tank is being absorbed by my stand. Now I am new to a tank this large so I'm not sure what to think. I really don't think this is normal though. My question is what should I do about this, if anything. I have seen sealant just for glass fich tank and I was wondering if this is a good idea. Help me out guys. Thanks in advance.

I would get that tank off there as soon as you can, if I was you.
Pressed board like that looses ALL it's strength when it gets wet.
You're liable to find your tank on the floor if you don't.
You'll have to empty out the tank and re-seal it if you want to save things.
Depending on how many fish you have, you might want to get the biggest "Tupperware" tub you can find and transfer the fish into it, clean it first of course.
Transfer your heater and filter into it and treat it as your temporary aquarium then you can empty the 55 and re-seal it with RTV silicone.
Do a search on-line and I'm sure you can come up with lots of info on re-sealing.

Good luck and keep us posted.
Rick

I only have two fish in there right now, so this sounds like a good idea. Having never done this before is this a fairly easy process?

Is which an easy process?
Moving the fish into a big plastic tub is the same as setting up a new aquarium, just be sure to use most of the water from the old tank and the same filter, don't change the medium, and that should be just fine.