Is my neon tetra sick?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ramtsi

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
This one had an orange/deformed tail since the day I got him. Recently the tail lost its color completely. Other than that his behavior is completely normal.

Attachments

• 20230213_052050.jpg
    20230213_052050.jpg
    144.4 KB · Views: 23
It looks like neon tetra disease to me. remove him from your tank immediately before he infects your other fish. I'm no expert but it looks exactly like it, remove him then wait for someone more knowledgeable to help you

Fish with neon disease don't normally eat and die within 24-48 hours of showing the white patch

How long has the fish had the white patch?
Have you added anything to the tank in the 2 weeks before this started?
How long have you had the fish for?
How long has the tank been set up for?

I added this fish two months ago

The aquarium 4 months old (since it cycled). No new additions to the tank in the last month or so.

Neon tetras for a month, the patch about a two weeks.

If the fish has had the white patch for 2 weeks then it's more likely to be fungus or excess mucous, rather than neon disease, which would have killed it by now. A decent picture might offer more clues but at this stage you could try salt.

Use 1 heaped tablespoon of rock salt (aquarium salt), swimming pool salt, or any non iodised salt for every 20 litres (5 gallons) of water. If there's no improvement after 48 hours, double the dose rate so there is 2 heaped tablespoons of salt for every 20 litres of water.

Keep the salt in there for 2 weeks. However, if there's no improvement after a week, stop using the salt and water change it out.

The salt won't affect the filter bacteria, fish, plants, snails or shrimp.