Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-12-2021, 06:01 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
C.w.deegan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: illinois USA
Posts: 61
Is my new tank cycled

I started a new 20 gal tank with a fish in cycle 1 black sailfin Molly I seeded ot woth media from one of my established tanks its been running about 4 weeks now just got a api master test kit and ammonia nitrate and nitrite are all 0 if I'm reading this correctly first time using this test kit before that I used the tetra strips and the last few testes my ammonia was 0.50 the api test is saying it's at 0 now would this mean my tank is cycled? I'm newer at fish keeping been at it about 6 months I messed up in my 40 gal and stocked it too fast and lost a bunch of fish in the process I don't want to make that same mistake again local water is hard and high ph also any advice on lowering the ph of my water its that high in my other tank as well but the fish seem happy and healthy Click image for larger version

Name:	20210712_170034.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	152.2 KB
ID:	321258Click image for larger version

Name:	20210712_170026.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	151.3 KB
ID:	321259

__________________
C.w.deegan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 06:31 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 3,500
If you are consistently seeing 0ppm ammonia and nitrite on your tests then you are cycled for the bioload you currently have. Increasing the bioload is the next step. Your cycle will need to catch up to increased bioload and you may see ammonia and/or nitrite spikes that will need water changes to manage your water parameters in a similar manner to what you have been doing so far to get to where you are now. Increase bioload a little, when you are again seeing no ammonia and nitrite in your tests increase a little more. Rinse and repeat until you are at the stock level you are looking for.
__________________
Aiken Drum
Community Moderator
Aiken Drum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, cycled, led, new tank, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cycled tank no longer cycled TracyRee Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 04-05-2018 09:50 PM
Cycled tank Un cycled?? HAnnAH10gal Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 12-30-2014 08:16 PM
If I Put a fish in a non cycled 2.5 gallon tank, will it eventually be cycled? Bettafanatic Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 08-21-2011 08:13 PM
Water from my established tank to help new tank get cycled? Christina Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 09-18-2006 12:05 PM
it's cycled! it's cycled! patagonia Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 04-26-2005 12:25 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.