Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-18-2009, 08:46 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 582
Send a message via ICQ to Speakerman Send a message via AIM to Speakerman Send a message via MSN to Speakerman Send a message via Yahoo to Speakerman
Is this a good idea? (filtration)

I have kind of a weird setup right now, a Rena Filstar Xp2 and Xp3 as well as a large UV sterilizer.

Is the way I have them arranged a good idea?

Basically, I have intake>coarse foam>semi-coarse foam>UV light>Bio media>Bio media> carbon and filter floss. (this part is wrong in the pick)

__________________

__________________
Speakerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 05:19 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,020
Send a message via Yahoo to jcarlilesiu
Seems to me that its not the best setup, and the reason being is that you are making the assumption that the flow rate is the same for both filters. As long as the 2 basket filter is supplying water to the 3 basket at a higher rate than the other way around, you should be fine. If however your course filter gets clogged up a bit and can't send water through the first filter fast enough, your second filter could possible run dry.
__________________

jcarlilesiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 06:16 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 188
You would most certainly be better off having each filter separate.
I would suggest each filter draw from one end of the tank and discarge to the other end. That way you get good cross flow.
__________________
Ruadh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 06:45 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 429
I agree separate them.The uv should be after the bio media if the flow isn't to strong on it.If it is I would put it on the smaller canister, the slower flow is better depending on what it's rated for.Plus you are only filtering 350 gallons a hr compared to 500 or600 what ever the xp3 is rated.
__________________
My Tanks
brutus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 01:19 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 582
Send a message via ICQ to Speakerman Send a message via AIM to Speakerman Send a message via MSN to Speakerman Send a message via Yahoo to Speakerman
Why do you suggest putting the UV after the bio media?

The way I figured, the UV will kill everything that does get filtered out by the first 2 basket filter, then go through the biomedia where the bacteria will eat it and break it down. Then some of the beneficial bacteria from the bio media will enter the tank through the filter and lach on to the surfaces of the tank.

If I were to put the UV after the whole filter system, (after the bio media) then any of the beneficial bacteria coming off the bio media would be killed before it entered the tank, thus making the tank's gravel, rock, wood ect suffer.

As far as the 2 filters being different GPH speeds. They are 250 and 300, and being a closed system, there is no way (once you bleed the system and seal it) that the filters would run dry. If I had 2 intakes and 2 outputs I would run them, but unfortunately I have one.
__________________
Speakerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 02:24 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
atomiclord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Perth, WA, AUS
Posts: 107
You may not run them dry if you have such awesome seals and suction, but if you get a blockage in the line you could damage a pump, or shorten it's lifetime, or if the block were in the second then the top of the first cannister may bust open, esp as the seal degrades over time. It may work on setup day, but what about in 6-12 months?
Maybe just try and get in the parts to put in that 2nd intake + output and have peace of mind?
__________________
--~{ Kieran }~--
Ironically I work in a fishing store...
160L - Planted
230L - Still too expensive to set up


atomiclord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 02:44 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 582
Send a message via ICQ to Speakerman Send a message via AIM to Speakerman Send a message via MSN to Speakerman Send a message via Yahoo to Speakerman
the two pumps have worked perfectly in that configuration for 2 years, the only thing I changed was adding in the UV sterilizer between them.
__________________
Speakerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 03:03 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
atomiclord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Perth, WA, AUS
Posts: 107
I think if I had the hardware I would try and get it down pat, and if it's working for you then it's working for you and there's no need to change. If the steriliser isn't impeding the flow very much and is rated for the flow rate then it could be likened to having a slightly longer hose between them. I say run it and keep us updated on how it goes
__________________
--~{ Kieran }~--
Ironically I work in a fishing store...
160L - Planted
230L - Still too expensive to set up


atomiclord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 03:03 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
What is the UV sterilizer GPH rating? If the flow is too fast then the UV sterilizer would be useless.
__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 01:52 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 429
I would think it might nuke the good bacteria before it even gets on your second filter. But is just my guess.I have a coralife turbo twist.
__________________
My Tanks
brutus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 02:09 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 582
Send a message via ICQ to Speakerman Send a message via AIM to Speakerman Send a message via MSN to Speakerman Send a message via Yahoo to Speakerman
The UV I have has a flow-rate of 700gph, which is twice as much as the filters will do. It'll probably be fine, but I think I'm gonna go get a new bulb for it, it's kind of old.
__________________
Speakerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 02:14 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 429
yeah there expensive to replace I don't run mine.
__________________

__________________
My Tanks
brutus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filtration

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zoanthid on back glass... Good Idea? Bad Idea? Kurt_Nelson Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 07-09-2008 12:11 AM
co2 diffuser on timer. (good idea/bad idea?) kangarooooooooo Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 01-09-2008 11:44 PM
Filtration Idea itafx General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 01-02-2008 02:55 PM
considering adding apistos: good idea or bad idea? SeymourFRESH Cichlid Discussion 17 11-06-2006 09:49 PM
filtration idea mdl91881 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 11-24-2002 10:22 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.