Just aquired a 80 Gallon Tank Any ideas

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mrgolfball

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I just aquired a 118 gallon tank with a large crack in it, I am going to cut it down to approx 80 gallons and reseal it. As I am still new to this hobby I am not sure on how to filter this large beast. I was think ing of a hang on the back good for 100 gallon tanks, or maybe even to good for 50 gallon tanks, is there anything wrong with this idea, also heaters, how big and how many. The tank dimensions are 48 x 20 deep x 18 wide... Lighting and all that kind of stuff...... Any suggestions are greatly apprciated.

Mike

I would go with a couple of canisters for filtration. You can hide them under the tank, and they tend to be not as loud as hobs.

I have a canister filter for my 75gal and I love it.. its so quiet. I hooked up an HOB for extra filtration once (not that I needed it, I was having an algea bloom and thought it could help) but it was SO LOUD

It depends on what you want to keep in the tank..
messy fish will need more cycles per hour..
plants will need alot more light...
HOB filters are not bad.. it just depends on the unit.. Aqua Clear makes the most versital and quiet unit in my opinion.. there largest filter cycles 500 gallons per hour.. not bad in my opinion..