Keeping multiple male gouramis?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Eoin

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I was wondering. Would it be possible to keep several single males from different peaceful varieties of gouramis? For instance, would it be possible to keep a Dwarf Gourami, with a Honey Dwarf Gourami, and a Licorice Gourami (for example), all in the same tank? Or would this cause problems?

That no one has replied either means that no one knows, or that the answer is so obvious I should have thought of it myself. :?

I'm just getting into gouramis...so I'm not an expert. But the rule of thumb is that male fish in general will "spar" with each other; mostly for the attention of females (if there are any around). (This doesn't have to be a BAD thing...but will get out of control if you have too many males in a small space)
Also, gourami of different types are not compatible in the same tank. (there may be exceptions - but it's very risky). Given these facts - males of multiple gourami types in one tank is NOT a good idea.... :wink:
I would pick one gourami type and purchase 1 male and 2 females. (or 2 males, 4 females) You'll want to keep more females than males - males can be quite boistrous for the poor females. :roll:
Or you could probably get 3 females (no males).... I'm not 100% sure about that but you could PM Christmasfish and ask her.

*soft clapping*
very nice smallfry..it is always nice to see someone quick on the uptake! Your ratios are good!

Eoin, your post prolly got buried and missed.
And as mentioned..it is NOT a good idea at all.
And haven't you already had a gourami problem recently? :?
Perhaps if you have a 55 or larger, you could have a blue gourami and a powder blue or a powder blue and a flame.
More space allows more exceptions in most situations regarding our finned friends.