Koi can be kept in aquarium?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

robotcholi

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi guys, can a pair of Koi be kept in, let's say, 75 gal aquarium? I've always wanted to do this but don't know if it is feasible since all i've seen is Koi in pond. How many can it holds? Oh yeah, can they co-exist with goldfishes? Thx a lot guys. I'm a total newbie in this hobby. :D

Short answer: No.

Koi grow on average to 20+ inches. I don't know any reason off hand they couldn't co-exist with goldfish, except that they'll be twice if not three times as large.

Koi are for ponds :)

ahhh... dang!
how about 180 gallons? isn't 180 gallons the equivalent of a tiny pond? hehe... :twisted:

Hehe. I'd say no.... You know these guys grow up to 3 feet long?? You'd need a 1000+ gallon aquarium for them.

Shubinkins are quite similar, and grow to only a little over 1 foot. They're more reasonable. Still, I'd put them in a 300+ gallon aquarium.

dang crazeeee.....

sigh i guess my dream of Koi as pet will have to wait until i make ton of $ to construct a KOI pond hehehehheehehe

I kept my 6 5-7" koi in my aquarium last winter and to be totally honest, I'd NEVER do it again.
Reason~ My aquarium is viewable from 3 of the 4 sides and everytime someone walked up to the tank or even walked by, the koi would spaz and "jump" causing one of them to hit it's head on the hood panel. It took a chunk of skin off it's head.
Koi are pond fish and bottom feeders and don't belong in an aquarium.
I also had them in a "small" 100gal pond with fancy g/f and they ended up sucking the eyes out of these poor fish.
So~ if your looking to keep koi in an aquarium, reconsider...maybe goldfish is a better choice.
JMHO and experience :wink: