Lets talk about Ghost shrimp for a sec...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hsherman1986

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I have a female carrying eggs right now. She has been carrying them for a few weeks now that I recall. Over the past few days, they have changed from a spherical shape to an oval shape, and have changed from a darker green to a much lighter green with two black specs (almost like eyes).

Will she be laying them soon? What can I do to ensure survival of the eggs (I am almost positive if i leave her where she is, the eggs will get eaten)? Should I seperate her out into her own tank until She is no longer carrying the eggs?

I have never tried to breed these shrimp before, but I think it would be fun to try! Any advice, please feel free to share!

I buy about 50 shrimp every wednesday to feed to my larger fish. I've noticed that almost half the shrimp are indeed pregnant.

I'd also like to know what needs to be done to breed shrimp. I might just create a sole shrimp tank to breed my own food...heh...

well, i have had success! I seperated the soon to be momma into a 10 gal by herself, and let her do her thing. (moved her last night) Woke up this morning to over 10 little shrimp stuck to the walls. It looks like she is still holding four babies. Now, what do I feed these little guys until they become free swimming?

I am so excited about this, I have raised molly's sucessfully (still have three babies that have survived), and have sucessfully bred platies and bettas, hopefully these little guys will survive!