LFS with dead fish in multiple tanks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

allysonwonderland

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm relatively new to the hobby, but as far as I know...dead fish=ammonia=bad. A LFS near my house that specializes in saltwater does have a very small freshwater section, and he leaves the dead fish in every time it seems! The other fish will be eating them, or there are just straight up skeletons sitting on the bottom, or it's decomposing near the filter...

I've only been in twice to browse around and haven't asked him about it but it just seems so strange. Almost intentional, at least the entire skeleton of a dragon fish. Should I avoid buying from him? It sucks because I've seen some really beautiful sailfin mollies, lyretail swordtails, uniquely colored guppies, etc.

I'm relatively new to the hobby, but as far as I know...dead fish=ammonia=bad. A LFS near my house that specializes in saltwater does have a very small freshwater section, and he leaves the dead fish in every time it seems! The other fish will be eating them, or there are just straight up skeletons sitting on the bottom, or it's decomposing near the filter...

I've only been in twice to browse around and haven't asked him about it but it just seems so strange. Almost intentional, at least the entire skeleton of a dragon fish. Should I avoid buying from him? It sucks because I've seen some really beautiful sailfin mollies, lyretail swordtails, uniquely colored guppies, etc.

I tend to tell the persons working that there is a floater in the tank, they correct it. But I am always curious as to why they died. Anyway, I still purchase fish from them, just not the same tanks (with the dead fish), I just quarantine them once I get home.