Live food woes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JenNewbie

Aquarium Advice Freak
8O So I got my pair of replacement dwarf puffers and I decided to start out with live food. I got 1/2 oz of bloodworms and ....ew!!! I don't particularly consider myself squeamish, but this is disGUSTing! I've forcefed pinky mice to ailing snakes, I was a vet tech for 11 yrs and saw more disgusting things than this, but I don't know if I can do the live food thing. The stupid worms got out of their container on the ride home and there were a few inside the plastic bag when I unpacked everyone. Please tell me I can handle this...! Am I the only one who's had to get over feeding live food? And the stupid worms were stretching up toward the air holes in their tub when I put them in the fridge. How am I going to break this to my roommate? "Whatever you do, don't open the paper bag in the fridge door!!" Will they be ok in the fridge? It gets very warm in the house sometimes, and the lfs lady said not to let them get warm or they'd disintegrate.

I don't think I'm going to eat for a week.... :roll:

LOL JenNewbie!!!

Live food is a wonderful thing but sometimes it isn't for the squeamish! If it helps any...bloodworms aren't really worms....they're insect larvae. You might want to consider going with the frozen stuff if squirmy 'worms' are giving you a difficult time!! :D

These guys are gross... but I've gotten used to them quite quickly.

Keeping them in the fridge is very important. It slows their metabolism and lets them survive for longer.

Speaking of which: I've gotta go feed my puffers black worms. Toodaloo.

Give them a rinse, too, each time before feeding.

I got over the squeamishness when I saw how much my fish enjoy them - they never get that excited over flake! :D

I actually like the live foods... :D