loaches= deep 6

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Elwood

Aquarium Advice Regular
I can not keep loaches alive. I really like them. Bala Sharks either. Other than the lack of scales I can't think of why they are dying. Usually to ick. I have my tank at 78 degrees.
Also, I get water droplets on the underside of my tank cover. Is that from the water heat?

Maybe it's a Missouri thing. I'm in St. Louis. My zebra loach committed suicide tonight for no apparent reason. Bottom feeders jumping out? Whatever.

Sorry for your loss. :(

The droplets on the underside of the lid are from the water vapor rising from the tank and hitting the relatively cool tank lid. This is the same as the condensation that develops on the side of a cold, umm lets say soft drink, on a warm summer day.

What is your water temperature doing after water changes?

Well I do have one other loach, the yoyo. Fingers crossed he doesn't know what state he lives in.

In order to treat ich, the heat method works the best. Turn temps up to 87F slowly and keep the temp there for 2 weeks after the last spot of ich is gone. Loaches are prone to ich I swear. Also add aeration to the water when temps are up. Hopefully if you try them again in the future this will help.

Zagz said:
Loaches are prone to ich I swear

For sure, and they're difficult to cure from it as well unfortunately. They don't tolerate swings in temp, don't like high temps, and medication is usually a Bad Thing (TM) for them because they are scaleless.
They are also intolerant to (aquarium) salt.

Just be super careful using the heat treatment method. Add salt if you must, but I'd halve the normal recommended dose for ich treatment.