Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-15-2006, 10:11 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Long Distance Move

Hi everyone,

I've been in the hobby for ages (about 35 years), but I've never tried this before. Actually, I never considered it practical for the average hobbyist...

I may be moving across the country this fall. I have a 55-gallon fresh tank, well stocked. How practical is it to move these fish cross-country in my van with my furkids (3 Shelties and an old cat, all crated)?

One of the local dealers told me that it's easily done (depends on your definition of 'easy,' I suppose) by using styro boxes lined with plastic bags and an air pump hooked up to the lighter plug in the dash. (I haven't found any of those on the Web yet, btw. Just pumps that are incredibly noisy and run on 2 D-cells). Has anyone tried this? Any advice, pro or con?

If I'm taking big risks with my fish, I'll sell them off and restock when I get to the other end. I have a few large fish (Ghost Knife and Arowana) that I'd just as soon not part with if I don't have to.

Old 05-15-2006, 10:42 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

What about having your local LFS board the fish until you move and then have them ship them to you once your tank is set up? Overnight shipping would be a lot less time in transit for the fish, and a lot less stress for you. Only drawback would be the cost.

Old 05-15-2006, 11:40 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Welcome to AA, GreggB!
Quote: