low Kh & pH

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BarbaraM

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi. I'm very new at this. I inherited a very dirty 25 gal aquarium from a family member. It is about 4 yrs old. I have an 8" plecostemus(sp) a 3" clown loach, and two silver dollars. They all made the move from her house to mine. I've had the tank a wee. The chemistry was nasty. I've been doing 50% water changes every other day with R/O water. I'm using test strips to test my water. There are no nitrites - that's good. I've gotten my nitrates from off the chart to between 40-50 ppm. I figure one more water change will get it down to the safe level. The readings for GH were off the chart to begin with, but they are down to about 150ppm. But the Kh and pH are not changing - they are staying on the bottom of the chart. KH at 0 and pH at 6.2. My fish seem to be doing ok? They had been living in the nasty water for quite some time. Any advice?
Thanks, Nana Barbara

Barbara I`m going to move this where you`ll get more help. In the mean time post again on this forum and tell us about yourself. Alot of folks wont see this post unless I move it to the appropiate forum. I`ll start by telling you welcome to AA.

The reason that your KH and pH are off the bottom of the charts is that you've been using RO water for your water changes. You need to either use tap water treated with a good dechlorinator like Prime, or reconstitue the RO water with buffers etc. Unless your tap water is so nasty that you wouldn't even consider drinking it, then I'd recommend sticking to the tap water since it will make water changes much easier.