Maiden voyage of my hospital tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JeffNebraska

Aquarium Advice Regular
I have one sick female Bosemani Rainbow (probably body fungus) and could not stand the thought of adding Maracyn to my entire 30-gallon tank with well over twenty other inhabitants. I busted out the old 10-gallon, filled it with water from my main tank and put the patient and the medicine in there (heating and filtration also included, of course).

It's my first time trying a hospital tank, but I'm very hopeful. Just being alone in there, she seems more active than she had been. Now if I can just get the white stringy stuff to fall off of her dorsal fin and get her to start eating again, maybe she can be resuscitated.

Btw, do people here have a strong preference for other antibiotics over Maracyn? Also, when she's done with the hospital, should I just empty it and put it away? Otherwise, will I infect the next patient with her bad mojo?

Love to have your comments.

First off.

I don't believe your supposed to have a substrate in a QT tank, I may be wrong on this but I don't know [ You didn't say you did or didn't, just covering the basics :) ]

I hope your fish gets better, its hard to see a fish that you love get sick.

It'd probably be best to, after the inhabitants of the QT are better and put back into the community tank, to crank up the tank to around 90, kill off any badness that may be lingering in there, then let it come back down after a few days and keep some Danios in there to keep the tank cycled so you always have a emergency tank should you ever need one suddenly.

People with more experiance will be able to help you better I'm sure, hope I'm right tho :)