Many golfish noob questions... :]

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sati

Aquarium Advice Addict
I am totally new to goldfish, save the ones I had when I was very young. My boyfriend has his eye on a fish at the lfs. I believe it's a panda Oranda, but I would have to go back and look again to be sure. I don't know goldfish species very well after all :] I'm trying to figure a way to get keep this fish until we move in about a month. I have a 38 gallon FW tropical community tank that's quite full of tetras, a pleco, loach, platy, betta, etc and I don't believe this goldfish would be compatible with them. The BF and I are going to be getting separate places so I'd like to get him his own tank with this fish because I know he's going to miss my fish quite a bit. I do have a 10 gallon that's not set up right now. I guess my question is if I move some water from my 38g to the 10g along with my large hi-fin platy to help cycle the tank faster would that be a suitable home for the goldfish? I could also transfer some of the gravel and even the filter to transfer bacteria. I'm also wondering just how cold or warm a goldfish tank should be. I thought they were coldwater preferring maybe around 68F but I read that 82F is ideal for fancy goldfish here: http://users.megapathdsl.net/~solo/puregold/care/care1.htm#essentials I keep my tank at about 78F. Also, I have heard that goldfish specifically need goldfish food so feeding him in my community tank sounds like it would be rather tricky.

So many questions :}

The 10g has a AquaClear Mini filter, and a Penn Plax Therma Flow “PC” heater, with a standard hood. Is that suitable for a goldfish? I don't have any decorations for the tank currently. I know goldfish are plant eaters so I could eventually get some plastic or cloth plants. Do they need places to hid amongst plants/caves?