many many questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

875mill

Aquarium Advice Activist
I currently have a 20 gallon tank that I have been running for pretty successfully for 2 1/2 years. So I'm not completely new to this, but I know enough that i don't know enough:). I'm seriously thinking of upgrading to a 55 gallon tank and have a few questions. I would like to try a medium planted tank with a few angel's (thinking 4), a couple of dwarf rams (2 or 3), 4 cory cats, and a few other small schooling fish.
First question from what I have read so far ppl seem to suggest a canister filter over a HOB filter for anything 50 gallon and up. Why is this? Will the standard hob filters not provide enough filtration? Or is it the filter media? I have seem some HOB filters that have room for adding extra filter media. Second I have also read that many suggest adding an additional power head at the opposite side of the tank for better circulation.
When they say powerhead are the referring to a Hob filter, or is this an additional attachment for a canister filter?
Third question would 4 angels be to much for a 55 gallon? Would they have room to grow? Also i would like it if I could get 2 males and 2 females. Is there a place online where i can order fish and specify weather wether I want male or female? And I was wondering for them to pair off do the need to be the same type? I.E. 2 golds and 2 marbles, or can I have 4 different types like 1 gold, 1 block, 1 marble, and 1 white and they still pair off.
One to the fifth or sixth question I done lost count lol. I know cory cats forage the bottom for food. Will a med. planted tank still leave enough open bottom area for them to forage on.