Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-19-2011, 05:45 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
sumpnfishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 140
Question Mixed Substrate

I'm completely redoing all the tanks in my fish room and looking for a new look. Has anyone ever done a tank with gravel at one end and sand at the other?
My plan is an under gravel filter/power head at one end that goes to river rock in the middle and sand at the other end. This is a 75 gal tank. I have another 75 gal tank next to it and will do sand, river rock, gravel in it so it looks like one 8 ft long tank. The idea is this gives me plenty of different types of plants to include.

Any input welcome!
__________________

__________________
sumpnfishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 06:23 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Oscarr19's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,036
I have never done a mixed substrate tank but have seen many with both sand and gravel. You should go for it but i don't know about an UGF.
__________________

__________________
Oscarr19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 06:57 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Morgie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 781
My 55 gal is half sand, half gravel. It's definitely doable and only mixes a little bit in the middle. :>
__________________
125g Reef | 70g Tanganyikan WIP | 55g FW Planted | 20g FW Planted | 20gl Newt | 10g Paludarium
Morgie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 02:49 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Brandon K.A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 410
I have a 5 gallon with gravel substrate and sand substrate in the middle. The sand may mix a little bit with the gravel, but not too much. Please not, if you put sand on top of the gravel, some pieces of gravel may appear again if there is not enough sand covering.
__________________
Brandon K.A is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I Use Gravle As My Substrate For Plants Lunchbox209 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 08-08-2011 10:40 PM
storing my mixed water? KcTx Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 08-08-2011 07:50 PM
African Cichlid mix substrate for tropical community - no cichlids. chral513 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 08-01-2011 12:52 PM
What's the best bottom dweller substrate out there? vialznk Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 07-17-2011 07:57 PM
Mixed substrate?? Brandon K.A Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 06-26-2011 02:13 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.