Moors in a pond?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

siva

Aquarium Advice Addict
So I was at a friends house the other day and she has a moor in a 5 gal. The water level is even real low so it's probably in 3.5 gals. I am not a goldfish expert but I tried to educate her a little bit about them. She said she has a pond outside and debated putting it in there but wasn't sure if it would survive out there. I've never seen fancy goldfish in a pond so I wasn't sure how that works. What temps can they survive in? I'm sure this pond gets no upkeep..would the fish be better off out there?

The fish is already too big for a 10 gal. SIGH. Well what can I do. I took her red eared slider that wasn't being cared for properly to give it a good home but I really don't want the moor. I feel bad for it though.

that is too bad i love moors and i would love to have another but iam far away try a local buy sell trade site lots of people would take a moor how big is he?

she told me she did have another fancy in there with it *gasp*

Where are you? Whether moors will do well in ponds depends on the temperature. In semi-tropical climates, moors (& other fancies) will be fine in a pond. They don't do too well when the temp goes down to the 60's.

Another consideration is what else is in the pond. moors will have a tough time competing with koi or common goldfish. There may also be issues with predation (Racoons, birds) as moors are rather slow & with poor eyesight, can't see what is coming.

Finally, a poorly kept pond is not a good place for fish. You still need good filtration, proper cycling of the pond, pwc, etc. A fishpond realy should have the same upkeep as a tank.

he will do alot better in a 10 for the time being with just a few plants i keep my moors in a 10 gallon till they hit about 4