Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-19-2013, 05:33 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Posts: 659
Moving a tank from upstairs to downstairs

Hi,
How would you go about moving a 180 litre tank from upstairs to downstairs, with as little stress as possible?
Thanks
__________________

__________________
fishyperson3010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 05:42 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Vikkiog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cambridge uk
Posts: 52
Take a look at this, hope it helps.

http://www.thinkfish.co.uk/article/m...-tropical-fish
__________________

__________________
Vikkiog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 06:04 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Posts: 659
Thanks I will read it now
__________________
fishyperson3010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 08:16 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Aquamandan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Posts: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vikkiog View Post
Take a look at this, hope it helps.

Moving your aquarium
Excellent article.
__________________
Aquamandan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 11:19 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
AngelFishGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 880
Feel free to PM me of you need anything too
__________________
I may be a little TOO obsessed with my angels...
AngelFishGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 04:34 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Posts: 659
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelFishGirl
Feel free to PM me of you need anything too
Thank you
__________________
fishyperson3010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 01:51 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Posts: 659
Ok so I might be moving it this weekend how much water should I aim to keep
__________________
fishyperson3010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 02:36 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
AngelFishGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 880
Put your fish in a 5 gallon bucket - 2 if needed. Fill them halfway. In another bucket put your live plants (if you have any) and your filter media in another. Put a couple handfuls of gravel in as well and decor. Empty the rest.
After your drive, fill your tank up and heat it and dechlorinate your water. Then, drip acclimate your fish to the new tank water after adding your live plants, gravel, and filter media in. This prevents your tank from doing a bigger mini cycle. Drip acclimating your new fish to their home makes it just like when you first bought them and introduced them to their new home. It prevents a pH shock in their new water.

And there you go!
__________________
I may be a little TOO obsessed with my angels...
AngelFishGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 03:09 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Posts: 659
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelFishGirl View Post
Put your fish in a 5 gallon bucket - 2 if needed. Fill them halfway. In another bucket put your live plants (if you have any) and your filter media in another. Put a couple handfuls of gravel in as well and decor. Empty the rest.
After your drive, fill your tank up and heat it and dechlorinate your water. Then, drip acclimate your fish to the new tank water after adding your live plants, gravel, and filter media in. This prevents your tank from doing a bigger mini cycle. Drip acclimating your new fish to their home makes it just like when you first bought them and introduced them to their new home. It prevents a pH shock in their new water.

And there you go!
Thanks so I only need to keep 10 gallons
__________________
fishyperson3010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 04:58 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivers2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,694
Put it at the top of the stairs and push. Its harder going upstairs just kidding of course.

When moving my 75 gallon I kept 3x 5 gallon buckets. Most of the bacteria is in the substrate and filter media. I filled the tank with tap and prime waited for the temp to regulated and then added the buckets of just water into the tank then the fish.
__________________
Rivers2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 05:23 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
AngelFishGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishyperson3010 View Post

Thanks so I only need to keep 10 gallons
Yep and that water is only for the fish. Introduce them with the new water from your new home only. It'll be just like introducing them to a new home
__________________

__________________
I may be a little TOO obsessed with my angels...
AngelFishGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.