Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-12-2014, 05:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
elephantnose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,657
Moving best ways to do it?

I need every detail on moving my tank. So I have a 55g tank. It's planted. My have a decent amount of fish. What's the best way to move my fish and tanks? I know I will need to keep the media wet. Step by step how should I do I this. The move will probably be about 45mins aways. Any advice would be appreciated.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
It's like gardening except under water and instead if bees there are fish
elephantnose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 05:14 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zimmanski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 2,152
I just used 5 gallon buckets from lowes or Home Depot to transfer the fish plants and filter media. Everything else is common sense. If the tear down or set up is taking a while you can drop a heater in the buckets to keep the water temp up. I've moved all kinds of fish including sensitive discus this way. Moved a 20, 36, 40, 60, and 75 gallon this way before
__________________

Zimmanski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 05:23 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Aphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 149
In for answers. I will be potentially moveing to another apt before the summer is over
__________________
Aphone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 05:37 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
elephantnose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zimmanski View Post
I just used 5 gallon buckets from lowes or Home Depot to transfer the fish plants and filter media. Everything else is common sense. If the tear down or set up is taking a while you can drop a heater in the buckets to keep the water temp up. I've moved all kinds of fish including sensitive discus this way. Moved a 20, 36, 40, 60, and 75 gallon this way before
Okay so I would completely empty the 55g and full it up with new water and just re-acclimate the fish? I have prime that I can treat the water with.



Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
It's like gardening except under water and instead if bees there are fish
elephantnose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 05:39 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
elephantnose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aphone View Post
In for answers. I will be potentially moveing to another apt before the summer is over

Yeah I'll be moving to an apartment in a week. Up 3 flights of starts ugh. I think I have it kinda planned out but I just wanted to make sure I don't do something to potentially kill my fish.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
It's like gardening except under water and instead if bees there are fish
elephantnose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 05:44 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zimmanski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 2,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by elephantnose View Post
Okay so I would completely empty the 55g and full it up with new water and just re-acclimate the fish? I have prime that I can treat the water with.



Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

That's what I did, I filled up the new tank, minus a few inches from the top and used prime. Then once the new tank is heated and I have the filters going I poor in all the water and fish from the buckets
Zimmanski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 06:27 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
elephantnose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,657
Moving best ways to do it?

Okay that's how ill do it unless someone else chimes in. Did you leave the substrate in your tank when you moved?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
It's like gardening except under water and instead if bees there are fish
elephantnose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 06:33 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zimmanski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 2,152
I've done it both ways, depends on the size of the tank and depth of the substrate. It's more of a weight thing than anything else. If you can lift it, its fine staying in the tank. The more water you get out of the tank the lighter it will be, remember each gallon weighs 8lbs
Zimmanski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 06:42 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
elephantnose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,657
My tanks 55g and it probably has 3-2in of gavel


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
It's like gardening except under water and instead if bees there are fish
elephantnose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 07:58 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
nshepler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zimmanski View Post
I just used 5 gallon buckets from lowes or Home Depot to transfer the fish plants and filter media. Everything else is common sense. If the tear down or set up is taking a while you can drop a heater in the buckets to keep the water temp up. I've moved all kinds of fish including sensitive discus this way. Moved a 20, 36, 40, 60, and 75 gallon this way before
This is exactly what I do also, 5 gallon buckets a heater and if you need to a little air pump.



Sent from in front of my 100
__________________
nshepler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 08:06 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zimmanski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 2,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by elephantnose View Post
My tanks 55g and it probably has 3-2in of gavel


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

I would suggest adding 2 3gallon buckets for the substrate and to lighten up the tank, but that's just me (I usually only have my fiancé helping me move stuff haha)
Zimmanski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 08:07 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zimmanski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 2,152
It's always really stressful and sounds like a lot the first time you do it. The second and third time has just been a routine for me
Zimmanski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 08:08 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
elephantnose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,657
How high did you fill the bucket? And how long did you wait before you put the fish back in to the tank? Did you drip acclimate them?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
It's like gardening except under water and instead if bees there are fish
elephantnose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 09:03 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
elephantnose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zimmanski View Post
It's always really stressful and sounds like a lot the first time you do it. The second and third time has just been a routine for me

Hopefully, I'm moving to the apartment next week but I'm only going to stay until august 29th when I move into my new house. And will again move my tank a second time.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
It's like gardening except under water and instead if bees there are fish
elephantnose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 09:10 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zimmanski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 2,152
It'll be a breeze the second time. The substrate buckets, fill as much as you can. The fish buckets, I filled mine up to about an inch below the rim, with a good lid it's not an issue
Zimmanski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 09:13 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
elephantnose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,657
I don't have a lid. And I'm worried if I fill the bucket to high 40lbs+ I will shape the bucket too much and stress my fish.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
It's like gardening except under water and instead if bees there are fish
elephantnose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 09:22 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zimmanski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 2,152
Not sure what bucket you have, they shouldn't lose shape though. Mine didn't and a 5 gallon bucket is supposed to hold, wait for it, 5 gallons. Haha. Also, lids are ~1.50 at the home improvement stores
Zimmanski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 09:30 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
elephantnose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,657
Moving best ways to do it?

Yeah I'm not going to get a chance.
I have a 5g Home Depot bucket. It not the bucket I'm worrying about it's the water in the bucket moving too much.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
It's like gardening except under water and instead if bees there are fish
elephantnose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 04:32 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Aphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 149
How do I keep my old filter from drying up the good bacteria?
__________________
Aphone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 04:37 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
elephantnose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,657
Moving best ways to do it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aphone View Post
How do I keep my old filter from drying up the good bacteria?

Keep it wet with old tank water. Just the media:


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
It's like gardening except under water and instead if bees there are fish
elephantnose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
moving

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sand waterfalls- best ways to build??? peterlevey Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 05-12-2014 02:38 PM
what are some best ways to lower ammonia levels? joshpwolf Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 17 11-26-2013 05:34 PM
best ways to control calc, mag, alk? z_dano Saltwater Reef Aquaria 40 08-21-2013 12:45 PM
Best ways to get rid of hydra? redlum777 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 03-11-2011 01:03 AM
ways to either fix or replace the frame.... DIY Projects 9 06-13-2004 10:06 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.