Mudskipper setup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Canterthefishman

Aquarium Advice Freak
I wanted to get a dwarf mudskipper and I wanted to know the setup. Like half land or something. Could I do sand to half way up a 20 gallon long and have it go half of the tank and going down into deeper and deeper water. And maybe I could put a small scale archer in there when there they are like 2-3 in. I think there should be a pic (but I am new to the pic thing so it may not work.) image-806098310.jpg

Thanks

here is mine i love mudskippers and i love to talk to people that have them.
i just got a figure 8 puffer for the tank and he is just as great as the skipper.

Attachments

• IMG_0313.jpg
    IMG_0313.jpg
    230.8 KB · Views: 268
  • IMG_0314.jpg
    IMG_0314.jpg
    166.4 KB · Views: 279
  • IMG_0312.jpg
    IMG_0312.jpg
    250.9 KB · Views: 369
I dont remember the scientific name but i have it somewhere. Ill post it when i find it. I made the platform using plexiglass and painted pvc pipes. He never goes down to the bottom of the tank. He usually swims quickly across the top of the water to get from side to side. I have a puffer inthe tank now so that inhabits the water part of the tank.

Periophthalmus variabilis is the scientific name for my skipper.

i feed him mainly crickets and on occasion meal worms. im going to try feeding him fruit flys which im 99% confident he will go crazy for. when feeding meal worms i crush the heads and they will more, this way he sees them wiggling and ive heard meal worms can sometimes eat through their stomachs. i do not know a place where they sell my specific type but the best place is this link. they have 2 different types on there but one is sold out. i would contact them to see if they really are sold out.

Brackishwater Fish