My birthday present - need help/advice!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lmw80

Aquarium Advice Addict
When Daniel asked me what I wanted for my birthday, I asked him for the 5 or 6 gallon Eclipse desktop aquarium, as I wanted to start another tank on my desk at work...my previous one was only 2 gallons.

So I get home from class last night to this huge present wrapped standing by the front door....so I think to myself, ok, so he didn't get me a tank, whatever it is, I am sure I will be happy with.

Well this is what was under the wrapping paper http://www.jbjnanocubes.com/index.html?lang=en-us&target=d761.html

I am scared and excited!! I need ideas!! Freshwater and saltwater (but keep it saltwater simple since I have never done it before).

Ideas ideas ideas - I just do not know what I am going to do with this thing...lol, putting a beta in there just seems silly now.

thank you all!!

My concern with a planted tank is that I don't want to grow and algae-fest....it's got 18W for 6 gallons! my goodness! Is that possible without CO2?

Smaller tanks need more light than larger ones as far as planting goes, so really 3wpg is low-medium light. :) Definitely possibly without CO2....you could use Flourish Excel as a carbon source.

That is awesome! Congratulations and Happy Birthday!
I can't wait to hear (and see) what you do with it........ :multi:

Another vote for a nano reef here. Otherwise, a planted tank would be great. You could get some small plants like dwarf sag, micro sword, pygmy chain sword, etc.

Happy B day Lori.

What a great gift!!! That Daniel is toooooo much!!!!

I'd do the planted tank with Excel as well. Perfect size for growing a nice carpet of downoi.