Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-28-2022, 08:01 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Need advice for additions to tank

Hello all. I currently have a 36 gallon bowfront that I've been running for about 3 years. I have had great success with my current fish but need advice on adding as the tank is looking kinda sparse. It is heavily planted and currently has:

4 panda cories
2 bronze cories
2 amano shrimp
12 neon tetras
1 Ballon Molly ( long story)

I had a neon blue Gourami who died about 6 months ago. I definitely will be adding another as I love them !

I am looking for other additions but don't want to upset the balance - I have had the cories for almost 4 years and the shrimp are over 2 years old. Yep they are LARGE AND IN CHARGE.

Ideas? Input ?

Thought of a Bolivian Ram but not sure with the shrimp/cories.

Old 01-29-2022, 03:43 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator

If it where me, i think you add your gourami and rams, add add a few more of the fish you already have. Maybe a couple more corys and 3 or 4 neons.

Be careful with the gourami in particular, the one you had presumably was raised in the tank, and grew up being used to its smaller tank mates. A new fish might not have the same temperament. Dont add an adult fish to give you the best chance of it settling in.
Old 01-29-2022, 11:07 AM   #3

Good point with the Gourami. And yes my last one was raised in the tank and was quite mellow.

Do you see any issue with Rams and the Cory's?
Old 01-29-2022, 11:22 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie